comscore script

Men’s track honored in the classroom

Men’s track honored in the classroom

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. — The Arkansas Razorback men’s track and field team picked up numerous academic awards at the close of the 2009 season.

12 University of Arkansas men’s track and field student-athletes earned selection to the 2009 Southeastern Conference Spring Academic Honor Roll. They include seniors three-time All-American Scott MacPherson, 2009 All-American Alex McClary, 2008 All-American Andy McClary, Brent Rosson and two-time All-American James Strang; juniors Rio Reina and four-time All-American Dorian Ulrey and sophomores Lane Boyer, 2009 SEC Distance Medley Relay Champion Michael Chinchar, Dillon Goins, 2008 USA Junior and SEC Javelin Champion Luke Laird and Mitchell Scott.

Additionally, seven members of the squad were named to the 2009 SEC Freshmen Academic Honor Roll. The selections include Eric Fernandez, Scott Gillespie, Aaron Hamilton, Andrew Pennington, Rob Redwine, 2009-All-American Ben Skidmore and 2009 SEC Distance Medley Relay Champion Jake Stephens.

The University of Arkansas Athletic Department compiles three honor rolls: Academic Champions (4.0), Athletic Director’s List (3.50-3.99) and Athletic Department Honor Roll (3.00-3.49). Boyer, Scott and Strang were named Academic Champions. Fernandez, Laird, Terry Prentice, Rosson, Galen Tobey and Ulrey earned spots on the Athletic Director’s List. NCAA qualifier Tarik Batchelor, Chinchar, Gillespie, Goins, Alex McClary, Andy McClary, Spencer McCorkel, MacPherson, Randy Parker, Pennington, Redwine, Patrick Russell, Skidmore and Stephens were on the Athletic Department Honor Roll.

Earning spots on the 2009 USTFCCCA Division I Men’s All-Academic Track and Field Team are Boyer, Laird, Alex McClary, Daniel Quinn, Strang and Ulrey.

Arkansas Razorback men’s cross country will open the 2009 season Friday, Sept. 4 with the Arkansas Invitational at Fayetteville’s Agri Park.

Sports Category : Track & Field (M)