comscore script

NCAA accepted entries list announced

NCAA accepted entries list announced

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – The NCAA Committee announced the accepted entries for NCAA Outdoor Track and Field Championships on Tuesday. The NCAA Championships will be held Wednesday-Saturday, June 10-13, at Arkansas’ John McDonnell Field.

Arkansas Razorback men’s track and field will be represented by 15 student-athletes in eight events. Additionally, three Razorbacks will compete in multiple events at the NCAA Championships.

The Razorbacks picked up 10 automatic qualifiers at the NCAA Mideast Regional Championships. Senior Alex McClary in the 800 meters and the 4×100-meter relay earned at-large bids.

In the sprints, senior J-Mee Samuels will run the 100 meters and anchor the 4×100-meter relay with senior Cedric Zellner, freshman Marek Niit and senior Mychael Stewart. Samuels ranks No. 9 with a season best of 10.19 and the relay ranks No. 11 on the NCAA list with a time of 39.65.

In the middles distances, sophomore Chris Bilbrew, ranked No. 10 with a 1:48.30, and Alex McClary, ranked No. 5 with a 1:47.78, will run the 800 meters. Senior Andy McClary and junior Dorian Ulrey will compete in the 1,500 meters. They rank No 9 and No. 15, respectively, on the NCAA list with clockings of 3:41.39 and 3:41.96.

Senior Scott MacPherson’s season-best time of 8:44.08 places him 13th on the NCAA list. Seniors Shawn Forrest and James Strang will run the 10,000 meters. Both returning All-Americans in the event, Forrest’s time of 27:52.10 is No. 2 in the NCAA and Strang ranks No. 7 with a time of 28:29.27.

Junior Alain Bailey holds the NCAA’s top mark in the long jump at 26-5.5. He will be joined by Stewart, ranking sixth with a 26-0, and freshman Tarik Batchelor, ranked No. 10 with a 25-8.

Senior Nkosinza Balumbu will compete in the triple jump with Batchelor. Balumbu ranks No. 4 with his season best of 54-0. Batchelor ranks No. 14 with his season best of 52-8.75.

The University of Arkansas and the Razorback Athletic Department will host the 2009 NCAA Outdoor Track and Field Championships Wednesday-Saturday, June 10-13 at John McDonnell Field. Tickets are available by calling the Razorback Ticket office at 479-575-5151 or by visiting For meet information, a complete schedule of events and a fan guide, visit

NCAA Qualifiers

J-Mee Samuels, 100 meters

Chris Bilbrew, 800 meters

Alex McClary, 800 meters

Dorian Ulrey, 1,500 meters

Andy McClary, 1,500 meters

Scott MacPherson, 3,000-meter steeplechase

Shawn Forrest, 10,000 meters

James Strang, 10,000 meters

4×100-meter relay (Cedric Zellner, Marek Niit, Stewart, Samuels)

Alain Bailey, long jump

Mychael Stewart, long jump

Tarik Batchelor, long jump

Nkosinza Balumbu, triple jump

Tarik Batchelor, triple jump

Sports Category : Track & Field (M)