comscore script

NCAA Track and Field Championships Entries Announced

NCAA Track and Field Championships Entries Announced

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. Arkansas track and field learned Tuesday that 12 of its student-athletes will be competing in nine events at the 2008 NCAA Championships, in Des Moines, Iowa, next week.

The Track Hogs collected nine automatic-qualifying finishes at the NCAA Mideast Regional Championships in Fayetteville this past weekend.

J-Mee Samuels, after qualifying in the 100 meters, 200 meters and as the anchor leg of the 4×100-meter relay, will only compete in the 100 meters and the relay at the NCAA Championships.

Additionally, Shawn Forrest and James Strang will both run the 10,000 meters. Strang was eligible to compete in the 5,000 meters after a sixth-place finish at the regional championships and a season-best time of 13:44.18 made the eligible entries list. Instead of doubling, he will concentrate on the 10K

Spencer McCorkel in the pole vault was the lone at-large bid Arkansas received on Tuesday when the accepted entries list was posted. McCorkel finished 11th at the NCAA Mideast Regional Championships but his season best of 17-2.75 was good enough to get him into the meet.

Arkansas’ preview and meet notes for the NCAA Championships will be released later this week. For complete details of the 2008 NCAA Championships in Des Moines, Iowa, visit

Arkansas’ NCAA Championships Entries

J-Mee Samuels – 100M, 4x100M

Alex McClary – 800M

Peter Kosgei, Scott MacPherson – 3KSC

Shawn Forrest, James Strang – 10K

Spencer McCorkel – pole vault

Alain Bailey – long jump

Nkosinza Balumbu – triple jump

Luke Laird – javelin

Mychael Stewart, Cedric Zellner – 4x100M

Sports Category : Track & Field (M)