comscore script

NCAA Women’s Golf Championship field set

NCAA Women’s Golf Championship field set

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – The seventh-ranked University of Arkansas women’s golf team joins 23 other teams at the 2008 NCAA Championship in Albuquerque, N.M., May 20-23. Arkansas qualified for the program’s third NCAA Championship appearance in four seasons by way of tying for fifth place at the NCAA West Regional. The top eight teams from each of the three regionals advance to the NCAA Championship. In addition, two individuals from a non-advancing team move on. The Lady Razorbacks did not qualify as a team in 2007 missing the cut by a mere five strokes. However, Stacy Lewis advanced by being the top finishing individual on a non-qualifying team. Lewis made the most of her opportunity blazing to the top of the leader board in the first three rounds. A final round 66 gave Lewis a two-stroke win and Arkansas’ first golf national champion. The Lady Razorbacks qualified as a team in 2005 finishing tied for 11th overall and returned to the NCAA Championship in 2006 where they finished 10th as a team.

2008 NCAA Championship Teams

West Region: 1. Southern California 2. Arizona State 3. UNLV 4. Arizona t5. Oklahoma State t5. Arkansas 7. Tulsa 8. UC Davis 1. Angela King, Stanford 2. Erica Moston, San Jose State East Region: 1. Florida 2. Duke 3. Georgia 4. Auburn 5. Virginia 6. South Carolina 7. Wake Forest 8. Furman 1. Sara-Maude Juneau, Louisville 2. Alexandra Phelps, New Mexico Central Region: 1. UCLA 2. Purdue 3. Denver 4. TCU 5. Texas A&M 6. Alabama 7. Texas 8. LSU 1. Caroline Westrup, Florida State 2. Lauren Doughtie, North Carolina State

Sports Category : Golf (W)