comscore script

No. 5 Razorbacks Qualify Nine for NCAA Indoor Championships

No. 5 Razorbacks Qualify Nine for NCAA Indoor Championships

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. — The Arkansas women’s track and field team has qualified nine individuals for the 2014 NCAA Indoor Championships. Along with the individuals, the No. 5 Razorbacks will compete in two relays for a total of 12 scoring chances. The championships will be held March 14-15 in Albuquerque, New Mexico. Freshman sprinter Regine Williams will run the 200-meter after posting a time of 23.06, for a fourth-place ranking in the event. Chrishuna Williams will represent Arkansas in the 400-meter, qualifying with a time of 52.82 at the Southeastern Championships, a personal record for the junior. The Razorbacks will compete in the 4×400-meter relay, after qualifying with a season-best time of 3:34.70 at the SEC Championships. Arkansas’ available runners are Diana Harper, R. Williams, C. Williams, Brianna Swinton, Leigha Brown and Stephanie Brown. The dominant Razorback distance crew will be well-represented in Albuquerque, starting with Stephanie Brown in the mile (4:35.86). Dominique Scott (9:02.33) and Grace Heymsfield (9:05.16) will represent Arkansas in the 3,000-meter (9:02.33), both having broken the school record this season. Arkansas will have six available runners for the distance medley relay, an event that ranks fourth with a school-record time of 10:57.15. Grace Heymsfield, C. Williams, S. Brown, Scott, Rebekka Simko and Keri McClary will be available for the DMR. The Razorbacks also have three individuals entered in four field events. Following a stellar silver and bronze performance at the SEC Championships, Ariel Voskamp and Danielle Nowell will represent Arkansas in the pole vault in Albuquerque. The duo totaled 14 points at the conference championships with identical marks of 4.30m/14-1.25. Tamara Myers will compete in the long jump (6.29m/20-7-75) and triple jump (13.12m/43-.5). Myers scored 11 points at the SEC Championships, including a silver-medal finish in the long jump (6.28m/20-7.25). Alex Ghochenour rounds the Razorback list of entries, competing in the pentathlon with a 10th-best score of 4,122.

ESPN3 will stream the meet live on March 14 starting at 7:55 p.m. Eastern and March 15 starting at 7:50 p.m. Eastern. A tape delay of the championship will air Saturday, March 22 starting at 6:30 p.m. Eastern on ESPNU.

For more information on Razorback Track and Field, follow @RazorbackTF on Twitter. 2014 NCAA Indoor Championship Entries

200-Meters 4. Regine Williams — 23.06 400-Meters 16. Chrishuna Williams — 52.82 Mile 9. Stephanie Brown — 4:35.86 3,000-Meter 4. Dominique Scott — 9:02.33 9. Grace Heymsfield — 9:05.16 4×400 relay 10. Harper/R. Williams/C. Williams/Swinton — 3:34.70 Distance Medley Relay 4. Heymsfield/C. Williams/Brown/Scott — 10:57.15

Pole Vault 12. Ariel Voskamp — 4.30m/14-1.25 13. Danielle Nowell — 4.30m/14-1.25 Long Jump 12. Tamara Myers — 6.29/20-7.75 Triple Jump 10. Tamara Myers — 13.12m/43-0.5 Pentathlon 10. Alex Gochenour — 4,122 points

Sports Category : Track & Field (W)