comscore script

Pargo Makes USBWA All-District Team

Pargo Makes USBWA All-District Team
FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. — Arkansas senior guard Jannero Pargo picked up another postseason award this week as he was named to the United States Basketball Writers Association All-District VII team, which includes all schools in Arkansas, Texas and Louisiana.

The Chicago, Ill., native, who was named third-team All-Southeastern Conference last week, led the Razorbacks (14-15) in scoring (16.6 ppg), assists (3.3), three-point shooting (.432) and free throw percentage (.781).

The two-time SEC player of the week ended his career fifth on UA’s all-time three-point goals made list with 168 and second to Scotty Thurman (.432) on the all-time three-point percentage chart (.425). In conference play, he set a school record with 52 three-point buckets while his 119 attempts tied the school mark. His .875 percentage (7-8) in the 94-92 overtime win over then-No. 4 Florida is a school record for a conference game and his .421 career percentage in SEC contests ranks fourth.

Pargo has the top three scoring games in the league this season and had five 30-point games, including a pair of 35-point efforts against then-No. 4 Florida and at Mississippi State, the highest scoring games for a Razorback since All Dillard had 39 against Delaware State in 1994.

The five 30-point games are the most for a Hog since Joe Kleine had seven in 1985 and Pargo’s back-to-back 30-point games against Florida and Alabama (33) are the first consecutive 30-point games for a Razorback since Kleine had 32 against Texas and Texas Tech in 1985.

The rest of the team includes Player of the Year T.J. Ford of Texas, Mire Chatman of Texas-Pan American, LSU’s Ronald Dupree, Andy Ellis and Andre Emmett of Texas Tech, SMU’s Damon Hancock, Gerrod Henderson of Louisiana Tech, Bernard King of Texas A&M and Baylor’s Lawrence Roberts. Texas Tech’s Bobby Knight is the coach of the year.

Sports Category :