comscore script

Petrino finalist for Bryant Award

Petrino finalist for Bryant Award

FAYETTEVILLE – University of Arkansas head football coach Bobby Petrino has been named a finalist for the 2010 Paul "Bear" Bryant Award, it was announced Wednesday.

Coach Petrino became the third coach to lead two different schools to a BCS game when Arkansas was selected for the 2011 Allstate Sugar Bowl, the first BCS bowl in program history. Petrino also coached Louisville to a victory in the 2007 Orange Bowl. He has led the Razorbacks to their eighth 10-win regular season and directed UA to six SEC wins for just the fourth time in program history. The Arkansas record for wins in a season is 11, a mark reached in 1964 and 1977.

Arkansas defeated four ranked teams in 2010, the second-highest total in the nation, while being ranked the entire season for the first time since 1989. The Razorbacks lead the SEC and rank third in the NCAA with 338.4 passing yards per game. Their 489.3 yards of total offense are second in the conference and 10th in the country, while the 37.3 points per game are second in the SEC and 16th in the nation.

The winner will be announced live at an awards dinner benefitting the American Heart Association on Jan. 18, 2011 at the Hilton Americas-Houston Hotel and Convention Center in downtown Houston. Celebrating 25 years at this year’s event, The Marathon Oil Corporation Paul "Bear" Bryant Award is the only college football coaching award voted on after all bowl games are played.

The Paul "Bear" Bryant Award honors excellence in coaching while raising funds to fight heart disease and stroke, the nation’s No. 1 and No. 4 killers. Funds raised benefit research, community education and outreach programs for the American Heart Association. For more information, or to purchase tickets or a table for the event, contact 713-610-5026 or visit

The eighth-ranked Razorbacks take on No. 6 Ohio State in the Allstate Sugar Bowl in New Orleans on Jan. 4. The game, which is set to be broadcast on ESPN, kicks off at 7:30 p.m. inside the Louisiana Superdome.

2010 Paul "Bear" Bryant Award FinalistsChris Ault, NevadaBret Bielema, WisconsinGene Chizik, AuburnMark Dantonio, Michigan StateJim Harbaugh, StanfordChip Kelly, OregonGary Patterson, TCUBobby Petrino, ArkansasMike Sherman, Texas A&M

Sports Category : Football