comscore script

Razorback Athletes Honored at Annual Track and

Razorback Athletes Honored at Annual Track and

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – Several University of Arkansas track and field athletes were honored at the annual track and field banquet held at the Clarion Inn on Tuesday night. David Swain, a four-time All-American for the Hogs from 1982-1985 served as the master of ceremonies.
UA head coach John McDonnell summarized the Razorbacks season so far and a highlight video was shown.
With the Southeastern Conference Championships and the NCAA Championships still to be contested this year, the Razorback track program recognized the nine seniors and doled out awards to the deserving track and field athletes. Seniors recognized were Andrew Begley, Alan Dunleavy, Kenny Evans, James Karanu, Sharif Karie, Murray Link, Sean Lightfoot, Lavar Miller and Frans Schimper.
Fayetteville native Daniel Lincoln took home the “most improved track athlete” award. Lincoln, a sophomore, has already earned three All-America honors this season finishing 24th at the cross country championships helping the Hogs claim their 36th national title and seventh in the 3,000 and 5,000 meters at the indoor championships. In the outdoor season, Lincoln has already automatically qualified in the 3,000-meter steeplechase and provisionally qualified in the 1,500-meter run.
Sophomore Richard Smith was given the “most improved field athlete” award. Smith, who also plays football for the Razorbacks, has been a solid performer for the Hog jump crew. With most of the jump crew sidelined with injuries this season, Smith has been one of the few constants for the Razorback jumpers. Smith finished fourth in the long jump with a leap of 24-9 and seventh in the triple jump with a leap of 46-11.75 at the SEC indoor championships. Smith has also provisionally qualified for outdoors jumping 25-5.50 in the long jump.
Chris Mulvaney garnered the “outstanding freshman” award. During cross country season, Mulvaney was a part of the squad that took the South Central Regional title and served as an alternate for the 2001 national championship squad. In the indoor season, Mulvaney was a member of the SEC champion distance medley relay and earned All-America honors running the opening 800-meter leg of the NCAA runner-up distance medley relay team.
Junior Dirk Heinze received the “most outstanding track athlete.” After joining the team at semester, Heinze has made an immediate impact and during the indoor season was the SEC runner-up in the 800 meters and was a two-time All-American as the NCAA runner-up in the 800 and as a member of the distance medley relay squad.
Senior Kenny Evans was given the “most outstanding field athlete” award. During his career as a Razorback, the Pine Bluff, Ark. native and 2000 Olympian was the 1998 indoor high jump national champion and has won five SEC high jump titles including all four indoor titles.
Lincoln also took home the academic award for his 4.0 grade point average in pre-med.
McDonnell also took time to recognize his captains for the 2000-01 season giving awards to James Karanu and Murray Link for cross country and Evans and Link for track and field.

Sports Category :