comscore script

Razorback Basketball Award Winners Announced

Razorback Basketball Award Winners Announced
FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – With one degree in hand an another on the way at the end of the semester, senior forward Dionisio Gomez was presented the academic award at the University of Arkansas’ men’s basketball team awards banquet Monday.

Gomez, who averaged 8.3 points a game this year, earned a bachelor’s in Spanish last spring to regain a fourth year of eligibility. He is about to complete requirements for a second degree in information systems.

Gomez, from Panama City, Panama, also picked up the Chairman of the Boards award as the team’s leading rebounder. He ranked ninth in the Southeastern Conference with 6.6 rebounds a game and was fourth with 2.78 offensive rebounds per game.

Freshman Jonathon Modica, who led the team in scoring with 11.5 points a game and was second with 4.5 rebounds, was named the squad’s most valuable player. He led the team in scoring seven times, including a pair of 26-point outings against No. 4 Florida and in the win over No. 22 Alabama, and was named to the SEC’s all-freshman team and to the national 20-player all-freshman squad.

Senior Larry Satchell (3.2 ppg, 3.8 rpg), who was averaging just 1.3 points and 1.8 rebounds a game through the first 16 games of the year but averaged 5.1 points and 5.8 rebounds the rest of the season, was named the most improved player.

Kendrick Davis (10.3 ppg) won the free throw award after making 53 of 67 attempts and leading the team with a .791 percentage, and Wen Mukubu, who averaged 4.7 points and 4.1 rebounds over the last seven games in which he played seven or more minutes, won the Mr. Razorback Hustle Award.

Freshman Eric Ferguson (10.9 ppg, 3.1 rpg, 3.3 apg) joined Gomez as a double winner. Ferguson, who had a team-high 52 steals, won the defensive award and in a call-in poll taken by KPOM Arkansas’ NBC, he won the fans’ choice award.

Sports Category :