comscore script

Razorback Basketball Schedule Finalized

BY ANDRES FOCIL
Razorback Basketball Schedule Finalized

The Southeastern Conference portion of Arkansas’ basketball schedule is now complete and the Razorbacks picked up 10 more televised games, including a Sunday afternoon game at Kentucky on CBS Sports.

The non-conference portion of UA’s schedule was released last week. Before getting into SEC play, Arkansas faces Connecticut and either Arizona or Kansas in the Maui Invitational; Missouri, Southern Mississippi, Missouri State, Portland State, Texas State, Western Illinois, Texas-Pan American and Radford at home; Rice in Alltel Arena at North Little Rock; and Texas Tech in American Airlines Center at Dallas.

The league schedule has Florida, Vanderbilt and South Carolina visiting Bud Walton Arena, along with the other five members of the Western Division.

Arkansas opens SEC play at Mississippi State before playing host to both LSU and Vanderbilt, and then going on the road to Alabama and Auburn. The Hogs close the regular season with three of five in Bud Walton Arena – Florida and Alabama at home, on the road at Tennessee, at home against MSU and at Georgia.

“Our schedule seems to be harder on the top side,” UA head coach Stan Heath says. “We start off in Starkville, then have LSU and Vanderbilt back-to-back, and then go to Alabama and Auburn. It gives us a chance, with three of our first five on the road, to get some tough wins and gain some momentum.

“Late in the year, we have three of five at home, which is something you want when you’re trying to position yourself for a run at one of the top positions.”

The conference schedule gives the Razorbacks a total of 21 televised games, including one on Sunday, Jan. 29, at Kentucky on CBS Sports at 1 p.m. UA also plays host to Alabama on Feb. 21 in a nationally televised game carried by ESPN.

Games at Mississippi State on Jan. 7 (FSN), Alabama on Jan. 18 (Jefferson-Pilot Sports), LSU on Feb. 8 (JP) and Tennessee on Feb. 25 (JP) are also being televised. Other home games being televised are South Carolina on Feb. 4 (JP), Auburn on Feb. 11 (FSN), Florida on Feb. 18 (JP) and Mississippi State on March 1 (JP).

“We feel like we have good exposure in our television package, both nationally and regionally” Heath says. “We hope that helps us attract an even wider Razorback audience.”

2005-06 ARKANSAS RAZORBACKS BASKETBALL SCHEDULE

Date Opponent TV Location Time

Saturday, Oct. 29 Red-White Game Fayetteville, Ark. 4:05 p.m.

Friday, Nov. 4 Southwest Baptist (Exhibition) Fayetteville, Ark. 7:05 p.m.

Saturday, Nov. 12 Xavier-New Orleans (Exhibition) Fayetteville, Ark. TBA

Friday, Nov. 18 Portland State Fayetteville, Ark. 7:05 p.m.

Mon.-Wed., Nov. 21-23 Maui Invitational Maui, Hawaii

(Arkansas, Arizona, Chaminade, Connecticut, Gonzaga, Kansas, Maryland, Michigan State)

Monday, Nov. 21 vs. Connecticut ESPN2 Maui, Hawaii 10:30 p.m.

Tuesday, Nov. 22 vs. Arizona or Kansas ESPN/U Maui, Hawaii 3 or 8:30 p.m.

Wednesday, Nov. 23 vs. TBA ESPN/2/U Maui, Hawaii TBA

Saturday, Nov. 26 Radford FSN/SUN Fayetteville, Ark. 3 p.m.

Wednesday, Nov. 30 Southern Miss FSN/SUN Fayetteville, Ark. 8:05 p.m.

Friday, Dec. 2 Missouri ARSN Fayetteville, Ark. 7:05 p.m.

Tuesday, Dec. 6 Texas St. ARSN Fayetteville, Ark. 7:05 p.m.

Thursday, Dec. 15 Missouri St. ARSN Fayetteville, Ark. 7:05 p.m.

Saturday, Dec. 17 #Rice ARSN N. Little Rock, Ark. 7:35 p.m.

Wednesday, Dec. 21 %vs. Texas Tech ESPN2 Dallas, Texas 9 p.m.

Thursday, Dec. 30 Texas-Pan American ARSN Fayetteville, Ark. 7:05 p.m.

Sunday, Jan. 1 Western Illinois ARSN Fayetteville, Ark. 7:35 p.m.

Saturday, Jan. 7 *Mississippi St. FSN/SUN Starkville, Miss. 7 p.m.

Wednesday, Jan. 11 *LSU Fayetteville, Ark. 7:05 p.m.

Saturday, Jan. 14 *Vanderbilt Fayetteville, Ark. 2:05 p.m.

Wednesday, Jan. 18 *Alabama JP Tuscaloosa, Ala. 7 p.m.

Saturday, Jan. 21 *Auburn Auburn, Ala. 1 p.m.

Wednesday, Jan. 25 *Ole Miss Fayetteville, Ark. 7:05 p.m.

Sunday, Jan. 29 *Kentucky CBS Lexington, Ky. Noon

Saturday, Feb. 4 *South Carolina JP (s) Fayetteville, Ark. 2:05 p.m.

Wednesday, Feb. 8 *LSU JP (s) Baton Rouge, La. 7 p.m.

Saturday, Feb. 11 *Auburn FSN/SUN Fayetteville, Ark. 7:05 p.m.

Wednesday, Feb. 15 *Ole Miss Oxford, Miss. 7 p.m.

Saturday, Feb. 18 !*Florida JP Fayetteville, Ark. 1:05 p.m.

Tuesday, Feb. 21 *Alabama ESPN Fayetteville, Ark. 8 p.m.

Saturday, Feb. 25 *Tennessee JP (s) Knoxville, Tenn. Noon

Wednesday, March 1 *Mississippi St. JP (s) Fayetteville, Ark. 7:05 p.m.

Saturday, March 4 *Georgia Athens, Ga. 3 p.m.

Thur.-Sun., March 9-12 SEC Tournament Nashville, Tenn. TBA

Fayetteville games in bold

ARSN- Arkansas Razorback Sports Network

# – game played in Alltel Arena

% – game played in American Airlines Center

* – Southeastern Conference games

! – SEC Throwback Weekend

JP – Jefferson-Pilot Sports

JP(s) – Jefferson-Pilot split broadcast

All times central and subject to change



Sports Category : Basketball (M)