comscore script

Razorback Freshmen Continue to Rack Up National Awards

Razorback Freshmen Continue to Rack Up National Awards

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – Arkansas’ freshman class continues to gain national recognition for its outstanding play in the 2005 football season. On Wednesday, honored tailback Darren McFadden and kick returner Felix Jones on its first-team freshman All-America squad while recognizing linebacker Freddie Fairchild as a second-team All-America selection.

The website noted that Northwestern tailback Tyrell Sutton narrowly edged McFadden in voting for national freshman of the year. Sutton led the nation’s freshmen with 126.4 yards per game while McFadden racked up 101.2 yards per outing.

McFadden is a consensus freshman All-America selection and has garnered SEC Freshman of the Year honors from The Associated Press, SEC coaches, College Football and The North Little Rock, Ark., running back also earned first-team All-SEC honors from The Associated Press and SEC coaches after rushing for a school-record 1,113 yards and 11 touchdowns in his freshman campaign.

Jones is pacing the nation in kickoff returns with a 31.9 yard-per-attempt average. He returned 17 kickoffs for 543 yards and one touchdown. The Tulsa, Okla., product was named to the College Football All-America team as a kickoff returner earlier this week. Jones is the only freshman in UA history to earn first-team All-America honors.

Fairchild has collected his fair share of accolades for his freshman season as well. The Little Rock, Ark., native tallied 59 tackles including six tackles for loss (-28) and two sacks (-16). He made his collegiate starting debut at linebacker against No. 1 USC and never relinquished his starting position. College Football, and named Fairchild to their first-team freshman All-America squads.

The Freshman All-America Teams

First Team Offense

QB Pat White – West Virginia – Redshirt Freshman

RB Tyrell Sutton – Northwestern – True Freshman

RB Darren McFadden – Arkansas – True

WR Sidney Rice – South Carolina – Redshirt

WR Earl Bennett – Vanderbilt – True

TE Chase Coffman – Missouri – True

OT Jared Gaither – Maryland – True

OG Antoine Caldwell – Alabama – Redshirt

C Alex Fletcher – Stanford – Redshirt

OG Jeremy Perry – Oregon State – Redshirt

OT Kraig Urbik – Wisconsin – Redshirt

K Sam Swank – Wake Forest – Redshirt

KR Felix Jones – Arkansas – True

First Team Defense

DE Matt Shaughnessy – Wisconsin – True

DE Steve Davis – Minnesota – True

DT Chase Moline – UCLA – True

DT Mitch King – Iowa – Redshirt

LB Mike Brown – Duke – True

LB Solomon Elimimian – Hawaii – True

LB Rey Maualuga – USC – True

CB Justin King – Penn State – True

CB Alphonso Smith – Wake Forest – True

S Kenny Phillips – Miami – True

S Patrick Chung – Oregon – Redshirt

P Justin Brantly – Texas A&M – True

PR Joe Burnette – Central Florida – True

Second Team Offense

QB Rudy Carpenter – Arizona State – Redshirt

RB Steve Slaton – West Virginia – True

RB Jamaal Charles – Texas – True

WR Davone Bess – Hawaii – True

WR Michael Thomas – Arizona – True

TE Martellus Bennett – Texas A&M – True

OT Max Unger – Oregon – Redshirt

OG Michael Oher – Ole Miss – True

C Eric Wood – Louisville – Redshirt

OG C.J. Davis – Pittsburgh – True

OT Alex Boone – Ohio State – True

K Jordan Congdon – Nebraska – True

KR Brandon Tate – North Carolina – True

Second Team Defense

DE Phillip Merling – Clemson – True

DE McKinner Dixon – Texas Tech – True

DT Jeff Owens – Georgia – True

DT Fevaea’a Ahmu – Washington State – True

LB Jake Hutton – Utah State – True

LB Rashad Bobino – Texas – Redshirt

LB Freddie Fairchild – Arkansas – True

CB Aqib Talib – Kansas – Redshirt

CB Orlando Scandrick – Boise State – True

S Courtney Green – Rutgers – True

S Reggie Smith – Oklahoma – True

P Chris Miller – Ball State – Redshirt

PR B.J. Hill – Ball State – True

Honorable Mention

QB Drew Weatherford – Florida State

RB Javon Ringer – Michigan State

WR Mario Manningham – Michigan

WR Greg Carr – Florida State

WR James Hardy – Indiana

WR Ryan Grice-Mullen – Hawaii

OL Jon Cooper – Oklahoma

OL Allen Smith – Stanford

DE Brian Orakpo – Texas

DE Stryker Sulak – Missouri

DT Rashaad Jackson – Clemson

LB Zac Follett – California

LB Anthony Felder – California

LB Brian Cushing – USC

LB Braxton Kelly- Kentucky

CB Malcolm Jenkins – Ohio State

— HOGS —

Sports Category : Football