comscore script

Razorbacks Cruise to First Victory of the Seas

Razorbacks Cruise to First Victory of the Seas

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – The Arkansas men’s cross country team cruised to its first victory of the 2000 season at the Fayetteville Invitational on Friday night over Tulsa and Missouri Southern. The Razorbacks took the title by posting a perfect score of 15 points by having the first five finishers, and Missouri Southern and Tulsa tied with 58 points.
“Some of our guys looked really good,” UA head coach John McDonnell said. “Overall, I was pleased, but, no offense to the other teams, we did not have that much competition. I thought that our top four or five ran good.”
The top five Razorbacks finished within 12 seconds of each other. Leading the way for the Razorbacks was James Karanu finishing with a time of 20:20.8 followed by Sharif Karie at 20:22.5. Daniel Lincoln was next at 20:23.1 then Ryan Joseph at 20:27.4 with the last scorer for the Razorbacks being Murray Link who finished at 20:32.5.
When asked about his expectations for his 2000 squad, McDonnell said, “It is still early in the season, but in one poll we are picked first and in another second. I don’t think that we are that good. We are going to have to improve a lot more. We are going to have some tough workouts coming up.”
The Razorbacks return to action on Sept. 16 when they travel to Joplin, Missouri, for the Missouri Southern Invitational.

Fayetteville Invitational
September 8, 2000
1. Arkansas
2. Missouri Southern
2. Tulsa

Arkansas Finishers
1. James Karanu 20:20.8
2. Sharif Karie 20:22.5
3. Daniel Lincoln 20:23.1
4. Ryan Joseph 20:27.4
5. Murray Link 20:32.5
*8. Alan Dunleavy 21:27.2
*15. Eric Zack 22:23.2

Sports Category :