comscore script

Razorbacks Host Chile Pepper Invitational

Razorbacks Host Chile Pepper Invitational

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – The University of Arkansas men’s cross country team will compete in the Chile Pepper Invitational at the Razorback Cross Country Course on Saturday morning. This is the last meet for the Razorbacks before they seek to defend their Southeastern Conference title on Oct. 30 in Tuscaloosa, Ala.
“What we are looking for is a good confidence builder that will springboard us into the conference meet,” UA head coach John McDonnell said. “The meet is exactly what we want because there are three or four really outstanding teams. There are three or four of the top six teams in the country here. We have got all the competition that we need. If we can win this type of meet it will be a great boost for conference first and then we will worry about nationals.”
Competing for the Razorbacks will be Fernando Cabada, Alan Dunleavy, Ryan Joseph, James Karanu, Sharif Karie, Daniel Lincoln, Murray Link, Chris Mulvaney, Frans Schimper, Mark Thompson and Ryan Travis.
The Razorbacks will face some stiff competition from Division II power Abilene Christian, who beat UA at the Cowboy Jamboree two weeks ago, and Iona College, who is ranked No. 6 nationally, and McDonnell hopes his team is prepared for the challenge.
“They (ACU) are division II but believe me they are probably as good as any division I team in the country,” McDonnell said. “That will be a real challenge for us. We will run Ryan Travis, and he was not back two weeks ago when we raced against them two weeks ago in Stillwater. We will be at full strength.”
Other teams competing in the Chile Pepper include Baylor, California-Davis, Colorado Christian, Hendrix, Jackson State, Kansas, Louisiana-Monroe, LSU, Louisiana Tech, Memphis, Nebraska-Kearney, New Mexico State, Oklahoma, Oral Roberts, Southern Nazarene, Southwest Missouri State, Southwest Texas State, Texas-Arlington, TCU, Tulsa and Wichita State.
The Razorback men will run at 9:30 a.m. followed by the women’s race at 10:30 a.m.

Sports Category :