comscore script

Razorbacks honored by ASHOF

Razorbacks honored by ASHOF

Several former Razorbacks were among the 10 new inductees honored Friday evening at the Arkansas Sports Hall of Fame at its annual induction banquet at the Verizon Arena in North Little Rock. Inductees from the University of Arkansas include Scotty Thurman, Leotis Harris, Bill "Groundhog" Ferrell and the 1964 National Championship Football team.

The 1964 Razorback football squad became the first team ever to be inducted into the Arkansas Sports Hall of Fame. The team posted an 11-0 record that season and finished the year with a 10-7 Cotton Bowl victory over Nebraska. The Razorbacks were recognized as national champions by The Football Writers Association of America and the Helms Athletic Foundation.

Thurman, whose three pointer sealed the 1994 national championship victory over Duke, ranks 10th in school history with 1,650 points. He also holds the Arkansas record for career three-point field goals made in a season with 102 in 1995.

Harris was an All-American offensive guard at Arkansas, who later was a standout with the Green Bay Packers. He helped the Razorbacks to 11 wins in 1977, including a 31-6 win over then-No. 2 Oklahoma in the Orange Bowl. Arkansas finished the year ranked No. 3 nationally by both the AP and UPI.

Ferrell, who was a posthumous inductee, was a longtime athletic trainer and baseball coach at the University of Arkansas.

Sports Category : Football