comscore script

Razorbacks honored by league coaches

Razorbacks honored by league coaches

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – The Arkansas Razorback football team had four players selected to the 2010 SEC Coaches’ Preseason All-SEC Team. Ryan Mallett and D.J. Williams earned first-team honors at quarterback and tight end, respectively, while offensive lineman DeMarcus Love and linebacker Jerry Franklin were second-team selections.

Mallett, a junior, became the first quarterback in school history to be named preseason first-team by either the league coaches or media. He was recently named to the O’Brien watch list, placing him in contention for the award given to the nation’s top collegiate quarterback. The Texarkana, Ark., native threw for a conference-leading 30 touchdowns last season, and also led the league in passing yards (278.8) and total offense (276.5) per game. Mallett was named to the All-SEC second team in 2009 after setting or matching 16 different school records.

Williams has been accountable for 98 receptions and 1,228 receiving yards in his time at tight end for Arkansas. The senior, who hails from Little Rock, Ark., was a second-team All-SEC honoree by the league coaches each of the past two seasons and a first team AP selection in 2008.

Love started every game last season at offensive line for a unit that led the SEC in scoring (36.0). A native of Lancaster, Texas, Love returns to the trenches as a senior who has been named to the Outland Trophy watch list. The award is presented to the nation’s top lineman.

Franklin, a junior, was the Hogs’ leading tackler the last two seasons. The Marion, Ark., native has recorded 171 career tackles, 8.5 tackles for loss, five interceptions, and four fumble recoveries.

Fans can click the PDF link to view the full team listings.

Download: Pre-Season Coaches All-SEC Team.pdf

Sports Category : Football