comscore script

Razorbacks pay visit to Arkansas State Capitol

Razorbacks pay visit to Arkansas State Capitol

LITTLE ROCK – More than 300 representatives of the University of Arkansas from all over the state traveled to Little Rock on Wednesday to thank state legislators and officials for their support as part of Razorback Day at the Capitol.

Arkansas chancellor Dave Gearhart, vice chancellor and director of athletics Jeff Long, head football coach Bobby Petrino and former athletic director Frank Broyles were among the special guests that attended the inaugural event. In addition, members of the Razorback band, the Razorback cheerleaders and Tusk, the Razorback mascot, also participated in the festivities.

"Razorback Day at the Capitol was a great opportunity to show our legislators and our elected officials that we appreciate their support of higher education and the University of Arkansas," Long said. "Their continued commitment is vital to our mission to provide a valuable student-centered educational experience to all University of Arkansas students, including our 462 student-athletes. Razorback Athletics was proud to take part in this special event in support of higher education and the University of Arkansas."

University of Arkansas administrators, staff, board of trustee members, board of advisor members, student leaders and friends of the university participated in a luncheon at Union Station prior to the visit to the capitol. Governor Mike Beebe addressed those in attendance at the luncheon and stressed the importance of a continued commitment to education at all grade levels. Beebe stressed that even in difficult economic times education will remain a priority for the state. Gearhart, Long and Petrino also addressed the luncheon crowd.

Following the luncheon, the University of Arkansas contingent headed to the capitol rotunda. The Razorback band and cheerleaders go things started with a pep rally before representatives of the university visited with various members of the Arkansas Senate and House of Representatives.

Sports Category :