comscore script

Russell named Distinguished Service Award winner

Russell named Distinguished Service Award winner

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. — Bob Russell has been named the 2009 winner of the Distinguished Service Award by the Razorback Foundation.

He will be recognized at the Hall of Honor banquet on Friday, Sept. 18, at the Holiday Inn in Springdale.

Under Russell’s ownership, Russell Chevrolet-Honda in North Little Rock has supplied the Razorback program with two automobiles each year since 1963, including one for the head football coach.

“Bob’s loyalty to the Razorbacks distinguishes him because he has gone above and beyond the call of duty in supporting the Razorback program,” Foundation Executive Director Harold Horton says. “We salute and appreciate what Bob Russell and his family have given to the Razorback athletic program.”

Russell graduated from Arkansas in 1961 with a bachelor’s in business administration. He attends every in-state and out-of-state football game and most basketball games. He has also attended every Southwest Conference and Southeastern Conference basketball tournament, as well as the NCAA Final Four in St. Louis, Denver, Charlotte and Seattle.

Russell is a Broyles-Matthews donor and is also a member of the popular Road Hog group. He is also a past president of the North Little Rock Razorback Club.

Past Distinguished Service Award recipients include E.J. Ball in 1992, Sykes Harris in 1993, Louis Ramsay in 1994, Dr. Raymond Miller in 1995, Bob and Marilyn Bogle in 1996, Willard and Pat Walker in 1997, H.L. and Janelle Hembree in 1998, Don Tyson in 1999, Barbara Broyles in 2000, Fred and Mary Smith in 2001, George and Boyce Billingsley in 2002, Bill and Dorris Binnion in 2003, Jim Lindsey in 2004, Charles Scharlau in 2005, John A. Cooper Jr. in 2006, Tommy May in 2007 and Frank Broyles in 2008.

Tickets to the Hall of Honor banquet are $50 and can be purchased from the Razorback Foundation. For more information, call the Razorback Foundation at 479-443-9000.

Sports Category : Football