comscore script

SEC Academic Consortium Headquarters Formally Dedicated on UA Campus

SEC Academic Consortium Headquarters Formally Dedicated on UA Campus

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – Provosts and university administrators from eight Southeastern Conference universities joined University of Arkansas Chancellor John A. White and SEC Commissioner Mike Slive to formally dedicate the Fayetteville headquarters of the Southeastern Conference Academic Consortium on Wednesday afternoon.

An open house and reception was held at the consortium office at 91 N. Razorback Road, the former Razorback athletics ticket office. Distinguished guests for the dedication and open house included Slive; White; University of Arkansas Provost Bob Smith; University of Arkansas Vice Chancellor and Director of Athletics Jeff Long; Mark Becker, chair of the SEC Academic Consortium and provost of the University of South Carolina; SEC provosts from the University of Kentucky, University of Tennessee, University of Alabama, University of Mississippi, Louisiana State University and Mississippi State University.

The Southeastern Conference Academic Consortium is a voluntary consortium of the 12 Southeastern Conference universities. It was established to share resources and coordinate efforts by the universities to bolster teaching, research, public service and other educational activities.

The consortium was incorporated as a 501 (c) (3) nonprofit organization in 2005.It is directed by the provosts of the 12 SEC universities. The University of Arkansas was chosen to host the consortium headquarters following a competitive bidding process open to all of the SEC universities. The headquarters office has been open since Oct. 1, 2007.

More information about the consortium can be found at

Sports Category :