comscore script

SEC Championships next

SEC Championships next

ST. SIMONS ISLAND, Ga. – The No. 15 University of Arkansas men’s golf team begins its quest to win its second Southeastern Conference team championship on Friday when it competes against the rest of the league at the Sea Island Golf Club in St. Simons Island, Ga.

The Razorbacks face a loaded field at the SEC Championships as six of the 12 SEC schools are ranked among the nation’s top 15 schools. Alabama enters the championship as the No. 2 team in the nation and is followed by No. 6 Auburn, No. 8 Florida, No. 9 LSU, No. 13 Georgia and then Arkansas. Despite the loaded field, Arkansas is 8-3 against SEC opponents this year including wins over Auburn, Florida, LSU, Mississippi, Mississippi State and Tennessee.

"We have our work cut out for us this weekend," Arkansas head coach Brad McMakin said. "We have three returning players from last year which gives us some familiarity with the course and that will be a big help. In order to have a chance to win this tournament, everyone has to be on every day. Missing a putt here and there could be the difference between first and sixth."

The Razorbacks enter this weekend’s tournament with Sebastian Cappelen leading the way. The freshman holds the top stroke average for the Razorbacks this year at 71.24, an average that ranks No. 8 among SEC players. He will be joined by senior Jamie Marshall, junior Ethan Tracy and sophomores Austin Cook and Josh Eure. Marshall, Cook and Eure each played in the 2010 SEC Championships which were also held at the Sea Island Golf Club and finished tied for 26, tied for 22 and 50, respectively.

The Sea Island Golf Club has been set for a par 70, 6,657 yard layout. The Razorbacks will begin their first round at 8:50 a.m. on the first tee with players from LSU and Tennessee. Eure will be the first Arkansas player to tee off and will be followed by Cook, Marshall, Tracy and Cappelen.

Arkansas has played well at each of the last two SEC Championships with a runner-up finish in 2009 and fourth-place finish in 2010. Arkansas’ only SEC title came during the 1995 season. That year former Razorback Bud Still became Arkansas’ first and only individual medalist at the tournament.

Fans wishing to follow the action at the SEC Championships in real time can join the men’s golf championships live blog on or follow the live stats at

Sports Category : Golf (M)