comscore script

SEC Cross Country Awards Announced

SEC Cross Country Awards Announced

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. Arkansas’ John McDonnell was chosen as the SEC Men’s Coach of the Year, it was announced by the conference on Friday.

McDonnell was selected SEC Male Coach of the Year. The award marks McDonnell’s 12th consecutive Coach of the Year award and 15th overall after guiding his Razorbacks to another SEC Championship and an NCAA South Central Region Championship.

McDonnell has been named National Coach of the Year 12 times in indoor track, 11 times in outdoor track and seven times in cross country for a total of 30 awards. He has been Conference Coach of the Year a remarkable 46 times, and Region Coach of the Year 61 times, his last regional award coming earlier this week.

The Razorbacks will be making their 32nd appearance at the NCAA Cross Country Championships when the Hogs take to the course on Monday. The Cardinal and White have captured an NCAA-record 11 National Championships including three-straight in 1998-2000. Arkansas has also earned five second-place finishes, four third-place showings and three fifth-place outings.

Joining No. 3 Arkansas on the NCAA Championship course will be 31 additional schools. UA is one of three SEC teams competing in Terre Haute. No. 15 Alabama and 18th-ranked Florida will also be making the trip.

Ole Miss’ Barnabas Kirui and Arkansas’ Brooke Upshaw were named 2006 SEC Male and Female Cross Country Athletes of the Year. Kirui was also named 2006 SEC Male Freshman of the Year while Arkansas’ Dani Parry was named SEC Female Freshman of the Year. Women’s coach Lance Harter, also of Arkansas, was voted as women’s Coach of the Year. The awards were voted on by the league’s coaches.

Sports Category : Cross Country (M)