comscore script

SEC honors women?s track

SEC honors women?s track

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – Arkansas Razorback women’s track and field picked up post-season nods from the Southeastern Conference, it was announced on Thursday.

The Razorbacks finished third at the SEC Championships last weekend. The Hogs picked up event wins in the 5,000 meters (Christine Kalmer) and the long jump (Peter-Gaye Beckford). Arkansas also had runner-up finishes in the 5,000 meters, the 4×400-meter and the distance medley relays.

Arkansas had numerous student-athletes named to the SEC first, second and all-freshman teams. Named to the All-SEC first team were Christine Kalmer (5,000 meters) and Peter-Gaye Beckford (long jump).

Named to the All-SEC second team were Denise Bargiachi (5,000 meters), Courtenay Brown (DMR), Janine Davis (4×400-meter relay), Tara Diebold (pole vault), Whitney Jones (4×400-meter relay), Samantha Learch (DMR), Lauren Lewis (DMR), Jillian Rosen (DMR), Karen Thomas (4×400-meter relay) and Shelise Williams (4×400-meter relay).

Jones was also named to the SEC All-Freshman Team for her third-place finish in the long jump. At the 2009 SEC Indoor Championships, Jones finished third in the long jump, seventh in the 200 meters and second as the anchor of the 4×400-meter relay. She clocked a 400-meter split of 53.6 to anchor the relay to Arkansas’ season-best time with a 3:35.18 which ranks No. 2 nationally and in the SEC.

Additionally, the U.S. Track and Field and Cross Country Association (USTFCCCA) announced its All-Academic Team for the 2008 cross country season. Senior Denise Bargiachi (journalism) and sophomore Catherine White (nutrition) were named to the list. The Razorbacks were also named one of USTFCCCA’s academic teams of the 2008 season.

The Razorbacks will host a last chance meet Fri., March 6 before the accepted entries to the NCAA Indoor Championships are released Monday, March 9. For more information, visit

Sports Category : Track & Field (W)