comscore script

SEC outdoor champions honored

SEC outdoor champions honored

FAYETTEVILLE – The University of Arkansas men’s outdoor track and field team was honored Wednesday evening with a reception hosted by Chancellor G. David Gearhart at the Wallace W. and Jama W. Fowler House. The on-campus celebration was in recognition of the Razorbacks’ victory at the 2011 Southeastern Conference Outdoor Track and Field Championships in Athens, Ga.

Gearhart and his wife Jane, in conjunction with Vice Chancellor and Director of Athletics Jeff Long, have formed the initiative to recognize Razorback teams that have won an SEC Championship with a ceremony at the Fowler House, home of Chancellor and Mrs. Gearhart.

Arkansas men’s track and field student-athletes, coaches and staff were joined by members of the University administration for the ceremony. After comments from Chancellor Gearhart, Long and head coach Chris Bucknam, members of the team were presented with a Chancellor’s Award medal for their outstanding accomplishments.

The Razorbacks captured the program’s 16th SEC outdoor title with 157.5 points during the four-day meet. The team victory was Arkansas’ 25th overall outdoor crown, dating back to the team’s days in the Southwest Conference. The outdoor win was the second under Bucknam, who went on to be named the SEC Men’s Coach of the Year. Overall, 10 Razorbacks earned All-SEC honors, including event champions Marek Niit and Dorian Ulrey.

Wednesday’s reception marked the second of the year for Bucknam and his program. The Razorbacks were also welcomed to the Fowler House after their victory at the SEC cross country meet in November.

For more information regarding Razorback cross country and track and field or University of Arkansas athletics, please visit

Sports Category : Track & Field (M)