comscore script

SEC soccer at 20

SEC soccer at 20

FAYETTEVILLE – The 2012 season is the 20th anniversary of soccer in the Southeastern Conference. In recognition of the anniversary, the SEC is providing historical features on each league member on its web site.

The story on Arkansas centers around former head coach Janet Rayfield, who was an early trailblazer for the sport and guided Arkansas into the SEC. Arkansas was one of just four teams in the league in its first season in 1993, along with Auburn, Kentucky and Vanderbilt.

The fourth coach in program history, Rayfield led Arkansas from 1993-98, winning 45 games.

Highlights include winning the 1996 SEC Western Division title and reaching the finals of the SEC Tournament twice. She also coached Honey Marsh, the first SEC Player of the Year and the inaugural SEC Tournament MVP. Rayfield coached six All-SEC selections and 10 SEC All-Tournament picks.

To read the story on Arkansas, click on the link below.

SEC Soccer at 20

Sports Category : Soccer (W)