comscore script

Several players honored for classroom success

Several players honored for classroom success

A total of 208 University of Arkansas student-athletes earned grades at or above a 3.0 grade point average for the fall 2008 semester the Razorback Athletics Department announced recently.

The Razorback football team had 28 of its members honored for their success in the classroom.

Senior fullback Lance Thompson represented the team on the Academic Champions list with a 4.00 in Exercise Science.

Seven were chosen to the Athletic Director’s List with a grade point average of 3.50-3.99: Seth Armbrust (Kinesiology), Clay Bemberg (Sociology), Evan Bettis (Psychology), Aaron Fenton (Psychology), Nicholas Grasshoff (Finance), Alex Mortensen (Communication), Jim Youngblood (Biology).

Twenty others were selected to the Razorback Honor Roll with grades in the 3.00-3.49 range. They were Damario Ambrose (Information Systems), Jake Bequette (Finance), Nicholas Brewer (Business), Ben Cleveland (Kinesiology), Andrew Davie (Marketing), Jeremy Davis (Kinesiology), Nathan Dick (Kinesiology), John Durmon (Kinesiology), Elton Ford (Business), Chip Gregory (Kinesiology), Bret Harris (Kinesiology), Josh Minde (Kinesiology), Seth Oxner (Kinesiology), Mitch Petrus (Agricultural Business), John Rees (Business), Collin Sanders (Poultry Science), Marcus Shavers (Kinesiology), Michael Smith (Kinesiology), Crosby Tuck (Kinesiology), Austin Tucker (Kinesiology).

The list of 208 honorees included 28 football players, 25 swimmers and divers, 24 soccer players, 23 men’s track and field athletes, 20 members of the baseball team, 19 softball players, 17 women’s track and field team members, 11 athletes from volleyball, 10 from gymnastics, seven women’s golfers, six each from men’s and women’s tennis, five from women’s basketball, four from men’s basketball and three from men’s golf.

In addition, the fall 2008 semester’s honors included 33 Razorback student-athletes with perfect 4.0 gpas.

Sports Category : Football