comscore script

Shawn Andrews Captures Jacobs Award for Second

Shawn Andrews Captures Jacobs Award for Second

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – Arkansas junior offensive tackle Shawn Andrews has captured the Jacobs Award for the second consecutive year it was announced by the Southeastern Conference on Wednesday. The award, voted on by league coaches, is presented to the most outstanding blocker in the SEC.
The Camden, Ark., product became the first Razorback to win the coveted award in 2002 following his sophomore campaign. With this year’s selection, Andrews becomes only the 11th player in league history to win the award in back-to-back seasons. Only four of those two-time winners have come since 1964. Andrews is the first SEC player to win consecutive awards since Jason Odom of Florida won the trophy in 1994-95.
“I’m pleased that league coaches have once again chosen Shawn as the best blocker in the Southeastern Conference,” Arkansas head coach Houston Nutt said. “He is a gifted player and has proven that he can be the best offensive lineman in the country. Any time an individual wins an award like this, it is a credit to many people that have helped him along the way. (Offensive Line Coach and Running Game Coordinator) Mike Markuson and Shawn’s teammates on the offensive line deserve a lot of credit as well.”
Andrews has turned in another banner season for the Razorbacks in 2003. The consensus first-team All-American is the only college football player in the nation to be a finalist for both the Rotary Lombardi Award and the Outland Trophy this season. He has graded out at 90 percent or better in 11 of the Razorbacks’ 12 games and has 85 knockdown blocks. Arkansas leads the SEC and ranks seventh in the nation in rushing with an average of 237.1 yards per game. The Razorbacks also lead the league and rate 22nd in the country with 435.2 yards per game in total offense.
Dr. W. P. Jacobs of Clinton, S.C., originated the Jacobs Award in 1935. Riley Smith of Alabama was the first recipient. Other past recipients include John Hannah (Alabama – 1972), Dwight Stephenson (Alabama – 1979), Eric Still (Tennessee – 1989) and Kenyatta Walker (Florida – 2000).
Several other individual awards selected by the conference’s coaches were announced on Wednesday. Ole Miss quarterback Eli Manning was named the player of the year while Florida quarterback Chris Leak was tabbed as the freshman of the year. Auburn’s Dontarrious Thomas was awarded the league’s inaugural Scholar-Athlete Award. Ole Miss head coach David Cutcliffe was named SEC Coach of the Year by his peers.

Sports Category :