comscore script

Sutej attends Bowerman ceremony

Sutej attends Bowerman ceremony

FAYETTEVILLE – Tina Sutej, a member of the University of Arkansas women’s track and field team, will attend The Bowerman ceremony Wednesday evening in San Antonio as the winner of the prestigious award will be announced. The event is part of the U.S. Track and Field and Cross Country Coaches’ Association (USTFCCCA) Convention and is scheduled to begin at 7 p.m. (CT). The Bowerman ceremony will also be streamed live by Flotrack.

Sutej is one of three finalists for The Bowerman which is in its third season of recognizing the top collegiate male and female student-athletes of the track and field season. Joining Sutej on the finalists’ list are Jessica Beard of Texas A&M and Kimberlyn Duncan of LSU. Sutej is the first Razorback to be named a finalist for the award.

The laundry list of accolades for Sutej during the 2011 season include National Outdoor Field Athlete of the Year, All-America and All-Southeastern Conference honors, and SEC and South Central Region Field Athlete of the Year. She swept both awards for both the indoor and outdoor seasons, and during the year was named the SEC Field Athlete of the Week on six occasions.

The Ljubljana, Slovenia, native became the ninth national champion in program history with her victory at the NCAA Indoor Championships in March. During the 2011 campaign, Sutej also set the indoor and outdoor NCAA records with an indoor mark of 14-10.75 (4.54 meters) and an outdoor clearance of 15-1.5 (4.61m).

Prior to her runner-up finish at the NCAA Outdoor Championships in June, Sutej held a 13-meet winning streak, dating back to the start of the indoor season. She cleared the winning height at the national meet but finished second on misses.

Finalists for The Bowerman were chosen by the 10-person Bowerman Advisory Board based on performances recorded during the indoor and outdoor 2011 track and field seasons. Only performances through conclusion of the NCAA Outdoor Track and Field Championships were used in consideration.

Past winners of The Bowerman on the women’s side are Jenny (Barringer) Simpson of Colorado in 2009 and Queen Harrison of Virginia Tech in 2010. Harrison is scheduled to be among the night’s special guests. Sutej would be the first female field athlete to be selected as The Bowerman winner.

The 2012 track and field season for the Razorbacks begins Jan. 6 with the Arkansas Invitational at the Randal Tyson Track Center. For more information regarding Razorback track and field or University of Arkansas athletics, please visit

Sports Category : Track & Field (W)