comscore script

Sutej headlines All-SEC team honors

Sutej headlines All-SEC team honors

FAYETTEVILLE – The University of Arkansas women’s track and field team picked up seven conference honors Tuesday with the release of the 2011 SEC Outdoor Track and Field Awards, including Tina Sutej being named the SEC Women’s Field Athlete of the Year. The Razorbacks earned six All-SEC First Team honors and one Second Team award.

Sutej won her second consecutive SEC outdoor title in the pole vault with an NCAA record performance (15-1.5). In addition to setting the collegiate outdoor mark, she also set the Arkansas school record, SEC meet record, Spec Towns Track facility record, Slovenian national record and current world-leading mark. Sutej sweeps the year-end SEC awards in 2011; she was also honored during the indoor season.

First-team honors went to Sutej, Makeba Alcide in the heptathlon and Arkansas’ 4×400 relay team of Shelise Williams, Regina George, Gwendolyn Flowers and Whitney Jones. The Razorbacks successfully defended their outdoor titles in the pole vault and mile relay. The 4×400 relay held off Auburn for the win in a time of 3:32.23, a facility record for Spec Towns Track.

Stephanie Brown rounds out the list of Razorback honorees with All-SEC Second Team accolades. Brown finished second in the 800 meters. Williams, George, Flowers and Jones also combined earlier in the meet for a runner-up performance in the 4×100-meter relay.

The 2011 SEC Championships, which were held May 12-15 at Spec Towns Track in Athens, Ga., will be televised via tape-delay broadcast May 25 at 7 p.m. (CT) on ESPNU. The Razorbacks are in action this weekend at the NCAA West Preliminary Round at Hayward Field in Eugene, Ore. For more information and continued meet-day coverage, log on to First Team (Arkansas only)Shelise Williams, 4×400 relayRegina George, 4×400 relayGwendolyn Flowers, 4×400 relayWhitney Jones, 4×400 relayTina Sutej, pole vaultMakeba Alcide, heptathlon

All-SEC Second Team (Arkansas only)Stephanie Brown, 800 meters

2011 SEC Outdoor Track and Field AwardsWomen’s Runner of the Year: Semoy Hackett, LSUWomen’s Field Athlete of the Year: Tina Sutej, ArkansasWomen’s Freshman Runner of the Year: Jasmin Stowers, LSUWomen’s Freshman Field Athlete of the Year: Rochelle Farquharson, Mississippi StateWomen’s Co-Scholar Athletes of the Year: Holly Knight, Auburn; Chanelle Price, TennesseeWomen’s Coach of the Year: Dennis Shaver, LSUCommissioner’s Trophy: Semoy Hackett, LSU

Sports Category : Track & Field (W)