comscore script

Three Razorbacks Named to Associated Press All-America Teams

Three Razorbacks Named to Associated Press All-America Teams

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – Arkansas placed three players on the prestigious Associated Press (AP) All-America football teams announced on Tuesday. Razorback sophomore tailback Darren McFadden earned first-team honors at running back while senior offensive tackle Tony Ugoh and sophomore center Jonathan Luigs garnered third-team recognition.

McFadden is a consensus All-America selection earning first-team honors from The Associated Press, the Walter Camp Foundation, CBS, the Football Writers Association of American, and The Little Rock, Ark., native also was tabbed as a first-team all-purpose back by the American Football Coaches Association. McFadden has already won the Doak Walker Award, presented annually to the nation’s top running back, and was the Heisman Trophy Runner-up to Ohio State quarterback Troy Smith. McFadden has rushed for a school record 1,558 yards so far this season.

Ugoh earned his third All-America honor of the postseason with his third-team recognition. Earlier this month, he was named to second-team All-America offense and was named as an honorable mention All-American by The offensive tackle from Houston, Texas, was dominant on the Hogs’ offensive line helping the Razorbacks lead the Southeastern Conference and rank fourth in the nation in rushing offense (228.23 ypg.). Ugoh has tallied 67 knockdown blocks this season including at least five knockdowns in 10 of 13 games.

Luigs secured the first All-America honors of his career with his third-team selection at center. The only sophomore named as a Rimington Award finalist, Luigs was named first-team All-SEC by both The Associated Press and league coaches. He tallied a team-best 89.3 percent grade this season including a 97.4 percent clip in pass blocking. He recorded 32 knockdowns and was part of a UA offensive front that led the nation in fewest sacks allowed (8 in 13 games).

The All-America honors were the first recognitions by the AP since offensive tackle Shawn Andrews was named to the organization’s first team in 2003. A total of 27 Razorback players have earned a spot on AP teams in school history.

Sports Category : Football