comscore script

UAs Johnson, Pargo Named to Postseason Teams

UAs Johnson, Pargo Named to Postseason Teams
FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – Arkansas’ top two scorers, Joe Johnson and Jannero Pargo, have picked up postseason honors by being selected to separate teams.

Johnson, a 6-8 sophomore who leads the Razorbacks in scoring with 13.6 points a game and in rebounding with 6.6 boards per game, has been named to the National Association of Basketball Coaches District 9 first team.

Pargo (12.9 ppg), a transfer from Neosho (Kan.) County Community College, has been named to the all-junior college team.

Each player has led the team in scoring eight times this season while Johnson has led in rebounding 18 times and in assists nine times.

Johnson has had three double-doubles this year and eight times has displayed his all-around versatility by scoring in double figures, making at least one three-pointer, claiming five or more rebounds, and recording one or more assists, steals and blocked shots in the same game.

The Little Rock native had 20 points and 14 rebounds in the 82-77 overtime win over then-No. 8 Tennessee, and game highs of 18 points and 11 boards in the 82-78 win over No. 13 Kentucky.

Sports Category :