comscore script

Volleyball selected to defend SEC Western Division title

Volleyball selected to defend SEC Western Division title

FAYETTEVILLE — The University of Arkansas volleyball team was selected to defend its Southeastern Conference Western Division title in a vote of the league’s coaches Monday. Arkansas has dominated the Western Division winning nine of 10 possible titles. The Lady Razorbacks have been selected to win the West in 10 of 11 preseason polls earning nine first place votes and tallying 58 points. "We are thrilled to again be selected to win the West," said Arkansas head coach Chris Poole. "Arkansas’ longevity at the top of the coaches’ poll is a testament to both past and present players. We were able to win in 1994 and have maintained that winning attitude. We hope to defend the title again this year but the SEC is constantly changing and improving. Winning won’t be easy. Alabama is going to be solid and I think LSU is really going to surprise people. They (LSU) had a couple of key additions that will improve that team." Alabama was selected second in the West with 51 points followed by LSU with 40. Ole Miss, 32; Auburn, 27; and Mississippi State, 16; round out the Western Division. Florida received 49 points and nine of 11 first-place votes to win both the SEC Eastern Division title and the SEC Tournament crown. The fourth-ranked Gators were selected just ahead of Tennessee with 39 points and two first-place votes. Georgia was picked to finish third overall followed by South Carolina and Kentucky. The Lady Razorbacks also received recognition in the national poll earning 18 points from the
USA TODAY/CSTV Top 25 earlier this month. Arkansas opens the 2004 season hosting Kansas Sept. 1, in Barnhill Arena. For more information and tickets call 57-LBACK or log on to SOUTHEASTERN CONFERENCE PRESEASON COACHES POLL

Western Division Eastern Division
1. ARKANSAS (9) 58 1. Florida (9) 49
2. Alabama (2) 51 2. Tennessee (2) 39
3. LSU 40 3. Georgia 30
4. Ole Miss 32 4. South Carolina 27
5. Auburn 27 5. Kentucky 14
6. Mississippi State 16

SEC Champion: Florida (9); Tennessee (2)

Sports Category : Volleyball (W)