comscore script

28 Student-Athletes selected to SEC Honor Roll

28 Student-Athletes selected to SEC Honor Roll

FAYETTEVILLE — A total of 28 University of Arkansas student-athletes from basketball, gymnastics and swimming earned selection to the Southeastern Conference Winter Academic Honor Roll, the league office announced today.

Razorback swimming and diving led the way with 18 selections followed by six from the gymnastics team, two from women’s basketball and two from men’s basketball.

“Congratulations to the Razorbacks who earned recognition on this year’s SEC’s Winter Academic Honor Roll,” Vice Chancellor and Director of Athletics Jeff Long said. “Student-athletes involved in winter sports face the challenge of practicing and competing in both the fall and spring semesters while maintaining their academic work. We are proud of their continued dedication and efforts to excel in all aspects of being a student-athlete at the University of Arkansas.”

Sean Schimmel’s swimming and diving team led the way with 18 selections to the SEC Winter Honor Roll. The swimming and diving team finished the season with a 26th-place finish at the NCAA Championships, the seventh-best finish in program history and the best since 1990.

Seniors Kelci Lewis and Amy Borsellino paced the Razorback gymnastics team with six honorees. The Razorback gymnastics team had four kinesiology majors selected to this year’s academic honor roll. The gymnastic team wrapped up competition last week with a 10th-place finish at the NCAA Championship, marking the fifth top-10 finish for the team in the past six seasons.

The women’s basketball team wrapped up a successful season where they earned a postseason WNIT bid and won their opening game against Memphis in convincing fashion, 67-57. Joey Bailey and Calli Berna represented the team on the SEC Honor roll.

Kikko Haydar and Charlie Henderson round out the Razorbacks on this year’s winter honor roll. The duo helped the Razorback men’s basketball team to a 19-13 overall record, including an undefeated home conference record. The team also tied last year’s record of 17 wins at Bud Walton Arena.

For more information regarding University of Arkansas athletics, please visit and follow the Razorbacks on Twitter (@ArkRazorbacks).

2012-13 Southeastern Conference Winter Academic Honor Roll

Kikko HaydarM. BasketballExercise Science
Charlie HendersonM. BasketballBusiness Management
Joey BaileyW. BasketballJournalism
Calli BernaW. BasketballJournalism
Amy BorsellinoGymnasticsKinesiology
Stephanie CanizaroGymnasticsKinesiology
Kelci LewisGymnasticsKinesiology
Scarlett WilliamsGymnasticsBusiness Management
Bailey ZumwaldeGymnasticsKinesiology
Shelby SalmonGymnasticsRecreation & Sport Mgt.
Julia BanachW. SwimmingArt
Allison BoyleW. SwimmingBusiness
Tera BradhamW. SwimmingSpanish & Journalism
Elizabeth BraunW. SwimmingPre-Childhood Education
Meghan ClarkW. SwimmingKinesiology
Shelby CoxW. SwimmingJournalism
Nicole DanielsW. SwimmingBusiness
Chelsea FranklinW. SwimmingChildhood Education
Aubrey GolbekW. SwimmingFood, Human Nutrition & Hospitality
Courtney HubbardW. SwimmingJournalism
Julia KucherichW. SwimmingFood, Human Nutrition & Hospitality
Molly MilbornW. SwimmingNursing
Kesha NaylorW. SwimmingKinesiology
Sigrun SverrisdottirW. SwimmingChemical Engineering
Alexandria SuttonW. SwimmingAgricultural business
Elizabeth WhitbeckW. SwimmingJournalism
Sevannah VekasW. SwimmingBiology

Sports Category :