comscore script

43 freshmen honored

43 freshmen honored

FAYETTEVILLE – A total of 43 Razorback freshmen student-athletes earned selection to the 2010 Southeastern Conference Freshman Academic Honor Roll, the league office announced this week. Arkansas saw an increase of freshman academic honor roll selections in 2010 after 39 Razorback freshmen were honored in 2009.

Arkansas’ softball and women’s track and field teams led the Razorback selections with head coaches Mike Larabee and Lance Harter each placing six team members on the honor roll.

Men’s golf and women’s tennis each checked in with five selections followed by four from women’s golf and men’s tennis, three from football and swimming, two from gymnastics and volleyball and one each from baseball, soccer and men’s tennis.

"We are proud of the growing number of Razorback freshman student-athletes who have earned selection to the SEC Freshman Academic Honor Roll," Vice Chancellor and Director of Athletics Jeff Long said. "With the academic and athletic demands placed on student-athletes, it is important that we continue to provide them with the resources to allow them to succeed in all aspects of their collegiate careers. The first-year student-athletes named to this list have demonstrated the ability to successfully balance those responsibilities, progress towards graduation and represent the Razorbacks in their given sports."

Of the student-athletes selected, 11 are kinesiology majors, nine are studying business and three are arts and science majors. There were 18 different majors represented.

Of the freshmen selected, several were honored by the SEC for their playing prowess as well including softball player Courtney Breault who was named to the SEC All-Freshman team hitting .313 for the season against league opponents.

To be selected, a student-athlete must have a cumulative GPA of 3.00 or above at the institution, be on scholarship or a letterwinner, have completed 24 semester hours of non-remedial credit and have been a member of the varsity team for the sport’s entire NCAA Championship season.

2010 Southeastern Conference Freshman Academic Honor Roll

Garrett Methvin Baseball Kinesiology
Dylan Breeding Football Business
Austin Tate Football Agribusiness
Ronnie Wingo Jr. Football Business
Austin Cook M. Golf Arts and Sciences
Joseph Doramus M. Golf Finance
Josh Eure M. Golf Business
Landon Tujague M. Golf Business
Kevin Vanden Heuvel M. Golf Business
Rachel Carpenter W. Golf International Relations
Emma Lavy W. Golf Journalism
Meagan Roberts W. Golf Business
Victoria Vela W. Golf Business
Kelci Lewis Gymnastics Kinesiology
Amanda Siebert Gymnastics Kinesiology
Allie Chandler Soccer Communication Disorders
Courtney Breault Softball Recreation
Stephanie Brewer Softball Health Science
Morgan Clark Softball Math
Chelsea Cohen Softball Nutrition
Hope McLemore Softball Health Science
Brea Van De Pol Softball Kinesiology
Dannica Brennan W. Swimming Arts and Sciences
Haley Smith W. Swimming Kinesiology
Kelsea Vance W. Swimming Biology
Halmon Fess M. Tennis Business
Lindsey Gray W. Tennis Chemical Engineering
Annemign Koenen W. Tennis International Business
Claudine Paulson W. Tennis Nutrition
Valentina Starkova W. Tennis Kinesiology
Kelsey Sundaram W. Tennis Animal Science
Derek Benner M. Track Engineering
Jordan Bryant M. Track Arts and Sciences
Caleb Cross M. Track Engineering
Seth Haynes M. Track Biology
Katelin Cherry W. Track Engineering
Tiffanie Johnson W. Track Arts and Sciences
Paige Johnston W. Track English/Journalism
Caroline McCombs W. Track Kinesiology
Rachel Werner W. Track Kinesiology
Keri Wood W. Track Marketing
Amanda Anderson Volleyball Kinesiology
Cassandra Clarke Volleyball Kinesiology

Sports Category :