Saturday 04/26
Red-White Game
Article Image
Courtesy: Walt Beazley
View larger

Wilson Recognized By Davey O'Brien Award

Athletic Communications
Send this article to a friend Print RSS

FAYETTEVILLE - University of Arkansas quarterback Tyler Wilson is one of seven quarterbacks tabbed as Honorable Mention Quarterback of the Week by the Davey O'Brien Award, it was announced Monday.

Wilson tied the Arkansas single-game record with five touchdown passes and was 23-of-31 passing for 372 yards plus the five scores on eight offensive possessions in the Razorbacks' 49-7 defeat of Kentucky last Saturday. Wilson also rushed once for five yards to bring his total offense yards to 377, the seventh-highest single-game total in school history. The game was terminated with 5:08 remaining in the 3rd quarter due to inclement weather in Fayetteville.

Wilson ended the game with a pass efficiency rating of 228.22, the highest by an SEC player in a conference game this year and 16th-highest single-game rating in the NCAA this season. His touchdown passes were from 77, 74, 18, 8 and 5 yards, making the Greenwood, Ark., native one of two quarterbacks in the country, and the only one in the SEC, with two touchdown passes of 74 yards or more in a game this year. His two touchdown passes of 70-plus yards also tied an Arkansas single-game record.

Wilson's five passing touchdowns are the most by an SEC quarterback in a game this season, and he recorded his SEC-leading and school-record-tying fourth 350-yard passing game of 2012. He also tied the Arkansas career record for 350-yard passing games with his sixth as a Razorback.

Fans are invited to cast their vote for the nation's best quarterback as often as once daily at VoteOBrien.org. The fan vote counts as five percent during each round of the voting process, and is combined with the results from the Davey O'Brien National Selection Committee, which is comprised of journalists, broadcasters, commentators and former winners. Voting for the semifinalists is open until Noon CT on Oct. 21, and Wilson currently holds the lead in the fan vote.

During the first eight weeks of the season, a subset of the Davey O'Brien National Selection Committee will name a Davey O'Brien Quarterback of the Week. All 124 FBS quarterbacks are eligible for the award until the list is cut to 16 semifinalists Oct. 22. From that list of 16 semifinalists, fan voting will reset and run until Noon CT on Nov. 18 and the three finalists will be announced Nov. 19. Voting for the winner will close at Noon CT on Dec. 2, and the winner will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards show on ESPN Dec. 6.

Members of the Davey O'Brien National Selection Committee are asked to vote for a NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) quarterback who embodies the attributes of football legend Davey O'Brien. As such, they are asked to evaluate each candidate on the criteria of his quarterback skills and athletic ability, academics, character, reputation as a team player, leadership and sportsmanship.

To keep up with Wilson and the rest of the Arkansas football postseason awards campaign, follow @ARKTD2012 on Twitter.

More Football
No rank or record available
00 DAYS 00 HRS 00 MINS 00 SECS
August 30 @ 3:00 PM
Football @ Auburn
Uploaded Ad
Lowes Social Ad