comscore script

Academic honors awarded to women?s track and field

Academic honors awarded to women?s track and field

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – Arkansas Razorback women’s track and field was named one of the U.S. Track and Field and Cross Country Coaches Association’s (USTFCCCA) 2008 All-Academic Teams, it was announced last week.

Additionally, 12 student-athletes were individually named to the 2008 USTFCCCA All-Academic Team. Cross country senior Dacia (Barr) Perkins was honored for the fourth time in her career. Senior Denise Bargiachi, former student-athlete Caroline Peyton and sophomore Miranda Walker were honored for the second time in their careers. Tara Diebold, Megan Jackson, Kristen Keith, Sarah Landau, Tiffany Redlarczyk, Michelle Rossio, Katie Stripling and Catherine White were named for the first time in their careers.

A record total of 468 student-athletes representing 140 Division I institutions composed the women’s 2008 All-Academic team. Rice University and the University of Wisconsin led all institutions with 13 student-athletes each on the All-Academic team. Arkansas and Oregon followed close behind, each placing 12 student-athletes on the team. Nebraska placed 11 student-athletes on the team.

The USTFCCCA honors Division I individuals for their academic and athletic achievements during the indoor and outdoor track and field seasons.

To qualify for the USTFCCCA All-Academic Track and Field Team, the student-athlete must have compiled a cumulative grade point average of 3.25 and have met either the NCAA Division I Indoor automatic or provisional qualifying standard or the NCAA Division I Outdoor regional or national qualifying standard in their respective event.

Razorback women’s cross country will open the season Fri., Sept. 5 at the Arkansas/MSSU Dual. The race will be held at Fayetteville’s Agri Park. For more information on Razorback Athletics, visit

Sports Category : Track & Field (W)