comscore script

Adams wins CFPA Punt Returner Trophy

Adams wins CFPA Punt Returner Trophy

FAYETTEVILLE – University of Arkansas wide receiver/punt returner Joe Adams has been named the winner of the 2011 College Football Performance Awards Punt Returner Trophy, it was announced Thursday.

Adams was a consensus All-American after tying the SEC single-season record and leading the NCAA with four punt return touchdowns. The Little Rock, Ark., native led the SEC and ranked second in the NCAA with an average of 16.89 yards per punt return, the fourth-highest single-season average in school history. He also tied the SEC single-game record with two punt return touchdowns in the season opener against Missouri State and broke Arkansas’ single-game record with 174 punt return yards against the Bears.

In his career, Adams scored five touchdowns on punt returns, the third-highest total in SEC history. He also averaged 15.83 yards per punt return throughout his career, which ranks second all-time at Arkansas.

The goal of the College Football Performance Awards is to provide the most scientifically rigorous conferments in college football. Recipients are selected exclusively based upon objective scientific rankings of the extent to which individual players increase the overall effectiveness of their teams. Former Arkansas quarterback Ryan Mallett was the 2009 CFPA National Performer of the Year.

Sports Category : Football