comscore script

Andrews Adds Associated Press First-Team All-A

Andrews Adds Associated Press First-Team All-A

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – Sophomore Shawn Andrews added another first-team All-America honor to his resume on Tuesday with his selection to the 2002 Associated Press first-team All-America squad. It is the seventh All-America team that Andrews has been named to this season.

Andrews is the first sophomore in school history to receive first-team All-America honors. The Camden, Ark., native is a consensus first-team All-Southeastern Conference performer and has also been recognized as a first-team All-American by the American Football Coaches’ Association (AFCA), the Football Writers’ Association of America (FWAA),,, College Football and The Sporting News.

Andrews is the first Razorback to be selected as an AP All-American since offensive tackle Jim Mabry was recognized in 1989. Arkansas players have earned a total of 20 AP All-America honors over the years with the first recipient, Clyde Scott, earning the accolade in 1948.

Andrews was one of three SEC players to be named to the first team. Kentucky return specialist Derek Abney and Georgia defensive lineman David Pollack also earned first-team AP honors.

AP All-America Teams

First Team


Quarterback – Carson Palmer, Southern California, 6-foot-5, 225 pounds, senior, Laguna Niguel, Calif.

Running backs – Larry Johnson, Penn State, 6-2, 222, senior, State College, Pa.; Willis McGahee, Miami, 6-1, 224, sophomore, Miami.

Wide receivers – Charles Rogers, Michigan State, 6-4, 205, junior, Saginaw, Mich.; Reggie Williams, Washington, 6-4, 240, sophomore, Tacoma, Wash.

Tight end – Dallas Clark, Iowa, 6-4, 244, senior, Livermore, Iowa.

Center – Brett Romberg, Miami, 6-3, 290, senior, Windsor, Ontario.

Guards-Tackles – Shawn Andrews, Arkansas, 6-5, 345, sophomore, Camden, Ark. ; Derrick Dockery, Texas, 6-6, 345, senior, Garland, Texas; Jordan Gross, Utah, 6-5, 306, senior, Fruitland, Idaho; Eric Steinbach, Iowa, 6-7, 284, senior, Lockport, Ill.

Kicker – Mike Nugent, Ohio State, 5-10, 170, sophomore, Centerville, Ohio.
All-Purpose – Derek Abney, Kentucky, 5-10, 175, junior, Mosinee, Wis.


Linemen – Tommie Harris, Oklahoma, 6-3, 280, sophomore, Killeen, Texas; Rien Long, Washington State, 6-6, 287, junior, Anacortes, Wash.; David Pollack, Georgia, 6-2, 275, sophomore, Snellville, Ga.; Terrell Suggs, Arizona State, 6-3, 251, junior, Chandler, Ariz.

Linebackers – E.J. Henderson, Maryland, 6-2, 250, senior, Aberdeen, Md.; Teddy Lehman, Oklahoma, 6-2, 235, junior, Fort Gibson, Okla.; Matt Wilhelm, Ohio State, 6-5, 245, senior, Lorain, Ohio.

Backs – Mike Doss, Ohio State, 5-11, 204, senior, Canton, Ohio; Terence Newman, Kansas State, 5-11, 185, senior, Salina, Kan.; Troy Polamalu, Southern California, 5-10, 215, senior, Tenmile, Ore.; Shane Walton, Notre Dame, 5-11, 185, senior, San Diego.

Punter – Mark Mariscal, Colorado, 6-2, 200, senior, Tallahassee, Fla.

Second Team


Quarterback – Brad Banks, Iowa.

Running backs – Chris Brown, Colorado; Quentin Griffin, Oklahoma.

Wide receivers – Nate Burleson, Nevada; Rashaun Woods, Oklahoma State.

Tight end – Kellen Winslow Jr., Miami.

Center – Jeff Faine, Notre Dame.

Guards-Tackles – Vincent Manuwai, Hawaii; Derrick Roche, Washington State; Jon Stinchcomb, Georgia; Brett Williams, Florida State.

Kicker – Nate Kaeding, Iowa.

All-purpose – DeJuan Groce, Nebraska.


Linemen – Michael Haynes, Penn State; Dan Klecko, Temple; Jerome McDougle, Miami; Cory Redding, Texas.

Linebackers – Boss Bailey, Georgia; Bradie James, LSU; LaMarcus McDonald, TCU.

Backs – Brandon Everage, Oklahoma; Terrence Holt, North Carolina State; Marlin Jackson, Michigan; Marcus Trufant, Washington State.

Punter – Andy Groom, Ohio State.

Third Team


Quarterback – Ken Dorsey, Miami.

Running backs – Avon Cobourne, West Virginia; Steve Jackson, Oregon State.

Wide receivers – Andre Johnson, Miami; Shaun McDonald, Arizona State.

Tight end – Bennie Joppru, Michigan.

Center – Bruce Nelson, Iowa.

Guards-Tackles – Sherko Haji-Rasouli, Miami; Montrae Holland, Florida State; Will Ofenheusle, Tennessee; Mike Saffer, UCLA.

Kicker – Billy Bennett, Georgia.

All-purpose – Charles Pauley, San Jose State.


Linemen – Jarret Johnson, Alabama; William Joseph, Miami; Jimmy Kennedy, Penn State; Calvin Pace, Wake Forest.

Linebackers – Rod Davis, Southern Mississippi; Gerald Hayes, Pittsburgh; Courtney Watson, Notre Dame.

Backs – Rod Babers, Texas; Vontez Duff, Notre Dame; Chris Gamble, Ohio State; Jim Leonhard, Wisconsin.

Punter – Glenn Pakulak, Kentucky.

Sports Category :