comscore script

Andrews Earns FWAA First-Team All-America Hono

Andrews Earns FWAA First-Team All-America Hono

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – Arkansas offensive tackle Shawn Andrews became the first sophomore in school history to earn All-America honors, on Monday, when he was named to the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) All-America team.
“I am pleased that Shawn (Andrews) has been recognized for his outstanding contributions to our football team,” Arkansas head coach Houston Nutt said. “It is even more special for him to receive such an honor as a sophomore. The entire offensive unit shares in this award with him. It is a great day for Shawn, our team and our entire football program.”
Andrews has anchored an offensive line that has enabled the Hogs to lead the SEC and rank eighth in the nation in rushing yardage with an average of 243.3 yards per game. Arkansas also ranks fifth in the league and 58th in the country with 376.9 yards per game of total offense.
The Camden, Ark., native has graded out at 85 percent or better in eight of his last nine games. He boasts 60 knockdown blocks in the 11 games he has played this season.
Andrews becomes the 37th Razorback player to earn first team All-America honors and the first since Jermaine Petty made the American Football Coaches Association (AFCA) squad last season. Arkansas has had a total of 42 first team All-America campaigns with five Razorbacks earning the distinction twice in their career.
The FWAA team is the second oldest continuously published team in college football. The team will be honored at a banquet on Jan. 24 in Orlando, Fla. Florida Citrus Sports, which also sponsors the Capital One and Tangerine bowls, will be the host to the banquet.


QB- Carson Palmer, Southern California
RB- Larry Johnson, Penn State
RB- Willis McGahee, Miami, Fla.
TE- Dallas Clark, Iowa
WR- Reggie Williams, Washington
WR- Charles Rogers, Michigan State
OL- Jordan Gross, Utah
OL- Shawn Andrews, Arkansas
OL- Brett Romberg, Miami, Fla.
OL- Bruce Nelson, Iowa
OL- Derrick Dockery, Texas
K- Nate Kaeding, Iowa
KR- Derek Abney, Kentucky

DL – Terrell Suggs, Arizona State
DL – Rien Long, Washington State
DL – David Pollack, Georgia
DL – Michael Haynes, Penn State
LB – E. J. Henderson, Maryland
LB – Matt Wilhelm, Ohio State
LB – Teddy Lehman, Oklahoma
DB – Terence Newman, Kansas State
DB – Shane Walton, Notre Dame
DB – Troy Polamalu, So. California
DB – Mike Doss, Ohio State
P – Andy Groom, Ohio State

Sports Category :