comscore script

Andrews Named to Outland Trophy Watch List

Andrews Named to Outland Trophy Watch List

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – Arkansas sophomore Shawn Andrews is one of 63 players on a list of top candidates for the 2002 Outland Trophy, which is presented by the Football Writers Association of America to the top interior lineman in college football each season.
Andrews earned freshman All-America honors last season after starting the final nine regular season games at right tackle. In 2001, Andrews became only the third true freshman to start on the offensive line in school history. He garnered second-team All-Southeastern Conference accolades from The Associated Press. In addition, Andrews was honored on both the SEC Coaches’ and Knoxville News-Sentinel’s Freshman All-SEC squads.
Prior to Andrews’ insertion into the starting lineup, Arkansas averaged 103.0 yards of total offense per contest. After he gained the starting nod, the Razorbacks posted 373.0 yards of total offense per game.
A consensus first-team preseason All-SEC tackle, Andrews was recently named the No. 19 best college football player in the nation by Mel Kiper on He was also recognized as a preseason All-American by Athlon Sports and an honorable mention All-American by Street and Smith Annuals.
Arkansas has been the home to two previous Outland Trophy Award winners. A Razorback offensive guard and defensive tackle, Bud Brooks was the Hogs inaugural winner in 1954. Tackle Loyd Phillips became UA’s second winner when he won the award in 1966. The Outland Trophy is the most prestigious award ever earned by a UA individual player in school history.
The winner of the 2002 Outland Trophy will be announced Dec. 12 on the ESPN College Football Awards Show from Orlando, Fla. Three finalists will be selected by the FWAA All-America Committee in late November and will appear on the show.
The winner also will receive his trophy during a banquet on Jan. 9 in Omaha, Neb. The banquet is sponsored by the Omaha Sports Committee, which additionally will honor a past Outland winner at the Doubletree Hotel in downtown Omaha.
Miami’s Bryant McKinnie won the 2001 Award while leading his team to the national championship. Tennessee’s John Henderson, the 2000 Outland winner, was one of the three finalists for the 2001 Award, but failed to become the second person to win back-to-back Outland Trophies. Dave Rimington of Nebraska (1981 and 1982) remains the only two-time winner.
The Outland Trophy has been presented every year since 1946 and is the third oldest award in major-college football. The award is named after the late John Outland, an All-America lineman at Penn during the turn of the century. Dr. Outland established the award in 1946, a year before his death, with the help of the FWAA. He believed it was important for lineman to receive greater recognition. And for the last 56 years they have because of his award.

2002 OUTLAND TROPHY WATCH LIST Bryan Anderson, OG, Pittsburgh
Shawn Andrews, OT, Arkansas
Ben Archibald, OL, BYU
Josh Babin, DT, Western Michigan
Tyler Brayton, DT, Colorado
Enoch DeMar, OG, Indiana
Robbie Doane, OT, Texas
Derrick Dockery, OG, Texas
Darnell Dockett, DT, Florida State
Nat Dorsey, OT, Georgia Tech
Jeff Faine, C, Notre Dame
Josh Gardner, OT, Cincinnati
John Garrison, C, Nebraska
Adam Goldberg, OT, Wyoming
Brandon Green, DT, Rice
Sherko Haji-Rasouli, OG, Miami, Fla.
Kwame Harris, OT, Stanford
Tommie Harris, DT, Oklahoma
Shalimar Jackson, OT, New Mexico State
Al Johnson, C, Wisconsin
Ben Johnson, OT, Wisconsin
Cody Johnson, C, Nevada
Garry Johnson, T, Arkansas State
Jarret Johnson, DT, Alabama
William Joseph, DT, Miami, Fla.
Jimmy Kennedy, DT, Penn State
Kenny King, DT, Alabama
Dan Klecko, DL, Temple
Dan Koppen, C, Boston College
Rodney Leisle, DT, UCLA
Wayne Lucier, C, Colorado
Eric Manning, DT, Oregon State
Vince Manuwai, OL, Hawaii
Matt Martinez, C, Idaho
Nate McPeek, OT, Marshall
Rodney Michael, C, Fresno State
Kindal Moorehead, DT, Alabama
Quincy Myles, DL, Louisiana Tech
Lance Nimmo, OT, West Virginia
Joe Olivo, NT, New Mexico State
Mark Parenteau, OG, Boston College
Tony Pashos, OT, Illinois
Tim Provost, OT, San Jose State
Jimond Pugh, C, Memphis
Tank Reese, DT, Kansas State
Rex Richards, OG, Texas Tech
Brian Rimpf, OT, East Carolina
Derrick Roche, OG, Wash. St.
Brett Romberg, C, Miami, Fla.
Nick Romeo, C, Syracuse
Mike Saffer, OT, UCLA
Walter Sampson, NG, La.-Lafayette
Steve Sciullo, OT, Marshall
Ian Scott, DT, Florida
Garrett Smith, DT, Utah
Eric Steinbach, OG, Iowa
Jon Stinchcomb, OL, Georgia
David Upchurch, NT, West Virginia
Matt Walters, DT, Miami, Fla.
Ty Warren, DL, Texas A&M
Brandon Westbrook, OT, Mid. Tenn.
Todd Wike, OG, Maryland
Brett Williams, OT, Florida State

Sports Category :