comscore script

Arkansas Pounds No. 12 Ole Miss 11-5

Arkansas Pounds No. 12 Ole Miss 11-5

OXFORD, MISS. – The Arkansas Razorbacks exploded for 10 runs in the seventh inning to erase a 4-0 deficit and cruise to an 11-5 victory over the 12th-ranked Ole Miss Rebels Saturday afternoon.
The Razorbacks improved to 27-21 overall and 10-13 in the Southeastern Conference, while the Rebels fell to 35-15 overall and 14-12 in the SEC. The win, paired with Mississippi State’s loss to Alabama, moved the Razorbacks into a virtual tie with the Bulldogs for the eighth and final spot for the SEC Tournament.
Mississippi State holds a slight edge over the Razorbacks in winning percentage with a .444 mark, while the Hogs have a .435 winning percentage. The difference would send Mississippi State to the tournament if the teams remained even in the standings. The Bulldogs benefit from having played a full schedule of conference games, while the Razorbacks have had three SEC contests rained out this season.
Scott Roehl pitched six and one-third innings of relief to earn the win. Roehl upped his record to 3-0 after allowing two runs, both earned, on eight hits and striking out seven. Roehl and starter Gary Hogan, Jr., who went two and two-thirds innings, did not allow a walk in the game.
Adam Yates took the loss for Ole Miss to fall to 1-1 on the year. Yates allowed three runs, none earned, on two hits and did not record an out. Yates relieved starter Adam Horne who went six and one-third innings giving up four runs, all earned, on six hits with two strikeouts.
Ole Miss scored the first run of the game on a double down the third base line by Chad Sterbens that scored Jonathan Swearingen (single). The Rebels increased the lead to 3-0 when Seth Smith singled to center to score Charlie Waite (single) and Sterbens. Following a two-out single by Burney Hutchinson, Hogan was lifted for Roehl who fanned Drew Rogers to end the inning.
Bryce Morrison made it a 4-0 Ole Miss lead when he took Roehl’s first pitch of the fourth inning out of the park. It was Morrison’s fifth bomb of the season.
Arkansas erupted in the seventh inning to take control of the game. Scott Bridges singled and moved to second when Nick Pitts was hit by a pitch. Ryan Fox then snapped a 0-for-14 streak with a single to left that scored Bridges and made it a 4-1 game. Andrew Wishy then laced a double off the right field wall to score Pitts and move Fox to third.
Wishy’s double chased Horne who was relieved by Yates. With two on and one out, Cody Clark blooped a single to left that scored Wishy and Fox to tie the game at 4-4. Brady Toops pinch hit for Scott Hode and hit a fly ball deep to right that Seth Smith dropped allowing everyone to advance and load the bases with one out.
McConnell then hit a grounder to third. Jonathan Swearingen threw home to get Clark, but catcher Charlie Waite dropped the ball allowing Clark to score and give Arkansas a 5-4 lead. The wheels then came off for Ole Miss. With the bases still loaded, Bridges was hit by a pitch to plate Goodwin for a 6-4 lead. Michael Conner then tripled off the left-center wall to clear the bases and put Arkanas ahead 9-4. Pitts hit a sacrifice fly to left to score Conner and push the Razorbacks to a 10-4 lead. Fox struck out swinging to end the inning.
The Razorbacks plated 10 runs on six hits marking their biggest offensive production in an inning this season. The last time Arkansas tallied 10 runs or more in an inning came on Feb. 5, 2000, in the first game of the season. The Hogs put up 11 runs in the first inning on Missouri Southern en route to an 18-5 win. The last time Arkansas put up 10 runs in a single frame against an SEC opponent came on March 8, 1998, when the Razorbacks scored 11 runs on South Carolina to come away with a 17-16 victory.
Clark doubled home Wishy in the eighth to give Arkansas an 11-4 lead. It was Clark’s third RBI of the game, his best output of the season.
Ole Miss plated a run in the bottom of the ninth for the final 11-5 margin. With the win, Arkansas improved to 7-5 against nationally ranked teams. The two teams will meet Sunday at 1:30 p.m. in the series finale.

Sports Category :