comscore script

Arkansas Wins Eleventh-Consecutive Meet

Arkansas Wins Eleventh-Consecutive Meet

    FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – Arkansas ran its third-best race of the season to claim the crown at the 1999 Chile Pepper Invitational Saturday.
    Claiming five of the top-10 places, Arkansas won its eleventh-consecutive meet. The streak began in 1998 by winning the Jawhawk Invitational, in Lawrence, Kan.
    “I wasn’t very pleased with the times, but I was very pleased with the results,” head coach John McDonnell said. “The pace started pretty slow but it really turned into a race at the three mile mark. We had a lot of guys up in the front and that is very good.”
    Senior Michael Power led the Razorbacks with a second-place finish with a time of 29:40. This marks Power’s second-individual, second place finish of the season.
    “It was hard, but I could see them up ahead,” Power said about his second place finish. “I just tried to focus on them and run at my own pace.”
    James Karanu placed third in his first 10k of his Razorback career. This was Karanu’s best finish this season. He placed 10th at the Cowboy Jamboree.
    “This was my first 10k,” Karanu said. “This was a new experience to me, but I’m excited I did that good. I was excited to run under 30 minutes for this 10k.”

1999 Chile Pepper Invitational
October 17, 1999

2. Rice 100
3.  Oklahoma State 103
4. Abilene Christian 107
5. South Alabama 146
6. Western Kentucky 154
7. LSU 197
8. Tulsa 218
9. UMKC 250
10. Stephen F. Austin 256
11. Boise State 260
12. Samford 271
13. Oral Roberts 332
14. Oklahoma 408
15. Louisiana Tech 412
16. New Mexico State 462
17. Portland State 493
18. St. Gregory’s 503


2. Michael Power 29:40
3. James Karanu 29:58
5. Andrew Begley 30:12
7. Matt Kerr 30:22
8. Sharif Karie 30:25
11. Murray Link 30:45
12 Mark Thompson 30:46


Sports Category :