comscore script

Arkansas gymnastics in Session I

Arkansas gymnastics in Session I


Event to be held in North Little Rock, Ark. on March 23
BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – The seedings for the 2013 SEC Gymnastics Championship were announced today. The event will be held Saturday, March 23 at the Verizon Arena in North Little Rock, Ark.
The eight SEC schools that sponsor gymnastics (Alabama, Arkansas, Auburn, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, LSU, Missouri) will participate in the championship meet. The meet’s format will consist of two sessions of four schools each (Seeds 5-8 and Seeds 1-4) with seeding based on regional qualifying score. Session I (Seeds 5-8) will kick off action at 2 p.m. CT on Saturday while Session II (Seeds 1-4) will begin competition at 6 p.m. CT.
Tickets for the championship are available at or by calling Ticketmaster at (800) 745-3000.
Fans and media can attend an open practice session on Friday, March 22. Auburn, Arkansas, Kentucky, and Missouri will practice from 1:00 until 2:48 p.m. CT. Florida, Alabama, Georgia, and LSU will practice from 3:22 until 5:10 p.m. CT. Additionally, the SEC will announce its regular season awards including gymnast of the year, freshman of the year, coach of the year, and scholar athlete of the year in between the two practice sessions at 2:55 p.m. CT. The practice sessions and regular season award ceremony are both open free to all fans.
The SEC has won 16 national championships since 1987, including two consecutive championships by the University of Alabama in 2011 and 2012.
The SEC Gymnastics Championship was held at on-campus sites from 1981-2000. It was then moved to neutral sites and held in Birmingham, Ala. (2001-2003, ‘06, ‘11), Duluth, Ga. (2004-05, ‘08, ‘12), Jacksonville, Fla. (2010), North Little Rock, Ark. (2007) and Nashville, Tenn. (2009).
Saturday, March 23
Session I (2 p.m. CT)
Seed 5: Auburn
Seed 6: Arkansas
Seed 7: Kentucky
Seed 8: Missouri
Session II (6 p.m. CT) Seed 1: Florida Seed 2: Alabama Seed 3: Georgia Seed 4: LSU

Sports Category : Gymnastics (W)