comscore script

BOISE BOUND: Arkansas to play Georgetown in NC

BY ANDRES FOCIL
BOISE BOUND: Arkansas to play Georgetown in NC

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – Arkansas is headed to Boise, Idaho, for first round action against the Georgetown Hoyas in the NCAA Tournament West Regional it was announced on Sunday afternoon. The Hogs (20-10) are the No. 7 seed and will face No. 10 seed Georgetown (23-7) on Thursday, March 15 at the Boise State Pavilion. The Hogs and Hoyas will play at 6:50 p.m. CT (5:50 p.m. MT) on Thursday night.
The Razorbacks will make a return visit to Boise where they competed in the first and second rounds of the 1998 NCAA Tournament. In that trip, Arkansas defeated Nebraska 74-65 before dropping a 69-65 decision to Utah.
Arkansas will face Georgetown for the fourth time in school history and for the first time since 1995. Arkansas has won two of the three previous meetings including a NCAA second round win over the Hoyas (85-73) in the 1994 NCAA Midwest Regional in Oklahoma City, Okla. The Razorbacks went on to win the only basketball national championship in school history.
“It should be a good game,” UA Head Coach Nolan Richardson said. “They have always been one of the top teams in the Big East. It should be a tremendous contest. I hope we’re ready to play. I haven’t seen much of Georgetown, but I know they have a very good team. They are one of the beasts of the Big East.”
The Arkansas vs. Georgetown winner will battle the winner of a matchup that features No. 2 Iowa State and No. 15 Hampton. The two winners will meet on Saturday in the second round at approximately 5 p.m. CT (4 p.m. MT). Other teams located in Boise for rounds one and two include No. 3 Maryland, No. 6 Wisconsin, No. 11 Georgia State and No. 14 George Mason.



Sports Category :