comscore script

Breeding nominated for Burlsworth Trophy

Breeding nominated for Burlsworth Trophy

FAYETTEVILLE – Nominees from across the country were announced today for the first annual Burlsworth Trophy. In honor of Brandon Burlsworth, former University of Arkansas walk-on and All-American offensive lineman, the award will be given to the collegiate player who began their career as a walk-on and has shown outstanding performance on the field. Nominees must have begun their first season of participation with a Football Bowl Subdivision program without financial aid of any kind from their athletic department.

"We are very excited to see so many nominees for the first year of this award," said Marty Burlsworth, founder and CEO of the Burlsworth Foundation and brother of Brandon. "Like Brandon, all of these players have shown amazing work ethic and determination on and off the field."

Without one Division 1 scholarship offer, Brandon Burlsworth walked on to the Razorback team in 1994, worked his way to being a three-year starter and was eventually named an All-American in 1998. Burlsworth was selected as the 63rd overall pick by the Indianapolis Colts in the 1999 NFL draft, but was tragically killed in a car accident 11 days later. The Burlsworth Foundation was created in his memory and supports the physical and spiritual needs of children, in particular those children that have limited opportunities.

Finalists will be named on Dec. 1 with the winner announced on Dec. 15. A banquet will be held in honor of the winner on Feb. 7, 2011 in Springdale, Ark. hosted by the Springdale Rotary Club.

2010 Burlsworth Trophy Nominees

Andrew Abbott, So., Cornerback, UCLAHoward Barbieri, Sr., C, RutgersDevin Barclay, Sr., K, Ohio StateMarcus Bartels, Jr., S, Florida AtlanticSean Bedford, Srl, C, Georgia TechTravis Bradshaw, Jr., S, RiceDylan Breeding, So., P, ArkansasMatt Brown, So., TB, TempleDerek Chard, Sr., LS, ConnecticutTyler Clark, Sr., C, TroyAustin Davis, Jr., QB, Southern MississippiBradie Ewing, Jr., FB, WisconsinJohn Fairbanks, Sr., C, FloridaDaniel Graff, Sr., DB, LSUBrett Greenwood, Sr., DB, IowaDaniel Hardy, Sr., TE, IdahoAdam Harris, Jr., FB, SyracuseGeorge Helow, Sr., CB, Ole MissAlex Henery, Sr., P, NebraskaMichael Hodges, Sr., LB, Texas A&MSteven Johnson, Jr., LB, KansasLevi Koskan, Jr., DE, Utah StateJordan Kovacs, Jr., S, MichiganSpencer Lanning, Sr., K, South CarolinaLogan Link, Sr., S, PurdueWill Lowery, So., DB, AlabamaJosh McNary, Sr., DE, ArmyBryant Moniz, Jr., QB, HawaiiAaron Nichols, Sr., WR, Oregon StateMatt Nicholson, Sr., LB, HoustonDak Notestine, Sr., DL, OhioBradley Spencer Ortego, Sr., P, Louisiana-LafayetteJoe Phillips, Sr., K, UtahWilliam Powell, Sr., RB, Kansas StateTrent Ratterree, Sr., TE, OklahomaGrant Ressel, Jr., K, MissouriNick Reveiz, Sr., LB, TennesseeAndrew Rich, Sr., S, BYUAnthony Santella, Sr., P, IllinoisBroderick Sargent, So., DE, Colorado StateJosh Smith, Sr., DL, East CarolinaBryant Ward, Sr., FB, Oklahoma StateJake Williams, Sr., WR, Iowa StateJustin Winters, Sr., LB, BuffaloRyan Winterswyk, Sr., DE, Boise State

Sports Category : Football