comscore script

Darren McFadden One of Three Finalists for Maxwell Award

Darren McFadden One of Three Finalists for Maxwell Award

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – Arkansas’ Darren McFadden is one of three finalists for 71st Maxwell Award, given annually to the nation’s college football player of the year, it was announced on Monday by the Maxwell Football Club.

McFadden joins University of Oregon quarterback Dennis Dixon and University of Florida quarterback Tim Tebow as finalists for this year’s award.

The 2006 Doak Walker Award winner and Heisman Trophy runner-up, McFadden is having another stellar season for the Razorbacks in 2007. He has rushed for 1,519 yards and accounted for 16 touchdowns (12 rushing, 1 receiving, 1 passing). McFadden ranks fourth on the Southeastern Conference career rushing list with 4,279 yards and is only 25 yards away from passing former Auburn Heisman Trophy winner Bo Jackson for third on the list.

Each year the Maxwell Football Club presents the Maxwell Award for the College Player of the Year. This award is presented in honor of Robert W. (Tiny) Maxwell, legendary college player, official and sports columnist.

The announcement of the winner of the Maxwell Award will be made during the Home Depot College Football Awards Show that will be broadcast on ESPN on Thursday Dec. 6, 2007. The show, hosted by ESPN’s Chris Fowler, Lee Corso and Kirk Herbstreit, will originate from the Atlantic Dance Hall at Walt Disney World Resort in Lake Buena Vista, Fla.

McFadden is also one of three finalists for the Doak Walker Award, given to the nation’s top running back. Both The winners of both the Maxwell Award and Doak Walker Award will be announced on the College Football Awards Show.

The formal presentation of the Maxwell Award will be made at the Maxwell Football Club’s Awards Dinner, to be held on Friday March 7, 2008 at the Harrah’s Entertainment Complex in Atlantic City, New Jersey.

Sports Category : Football