comscore script

Football honored for bowl win

Football honored for bowl win

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. –  Three representatives of the University of Arkansas football team and head coach Bobby Petrino were honored at halftime of Saturday’s men’s basketball game for their role in helping the Razorbacks to a 20-17 overtime victory against East Carolina in the 2010 AutoZone Liberty Bowl.
     The crowd in Bud Walton Arena helped recognize Ryan Mallett (2010 AutoZone Liberty Bowl MVP), Jarius Wright (Arkansas Outstanding Offensive Player) and Tramain Thomas (Arkansas Outstanding Defensive Player). Fans at the game also got to see the AutoZone Liberty Bowl trophy, which was presented to the team on the field in Memphis immediately following the win. 
     Mallett finished the game by completing 15-of-36 passes for 202 yards and a touchdown, while Wright had four receptions for 90 yards, including a 41-yard touchdown reception. Thomas led the defense with nine tackles and returned an interception 37 yards for a touchdown.
  More than 55,000 Arkansas fans were estimated to be on hand for the first bowl victory for the team since 2003. Arkansas finished the season strong by winning five of its last six games to finish 8-5 overall. 

Sports Category :