comscore script

Four Razorbacks Honored at Little Rock Touchdown Club Banquet

Four Razorbacks Honored at Little Rock Touchdown Club Banquet

LITTLE ROCK – Senior Peyton Hillis and juniors Felix Jones, Jonathan Luigs and Darren McFadden were among the 28 high school and collegiate award recipients honored on Thursday night at the Little Rock Touchdown Club banquet.

McFadden was honored as the national player of the year, the Southeastern Conference player of the year, a first-team All-American and the most valuable player of the Razorbacks. The two-time Doak Walker award winner was honored at the banquet in his hometown for the fifth-consecutive year including recognition from his high school career.

Hillis was the second recipient of the Paul Eells Award, an honor given in memory of the former Voice of the Razorbacks who passed away in a car accident prior to the 2006 football season. Hillis was honored for his perseverance in the face of adversity during his Razorback career. The Conway, Ark., native joins Arkansas wide receiver Robert Johnson as recipients of the Little Rock Touchdown Club’s highest honor.

Jones and Luigs were also recognized for their outstanding seasons and national awards. Jones was named to the Walter Camp All-America team as a kickoff returner and was a second-team All-America selection by the Associated Press as an all-purpose back. Luigs was a consensus first-team All-American and Arkansas’ first winner of the Rimington Trophy, given annually to the nation’s best center.

Jones, Luigs and McFadden will continue their awards tour on Friday when they travel to New Haven, Conn., to be honored at the Walter Camp All-America weekend. Luigs will then travel to Lincoln, Neb., on Saturday to officially be presented the Rimington Trophy.

Sports Category : Football