comscore script

Franklin named to Butkus Award Watch List

Franklin named to Butkus Award Watch List

CHICAGO – University of Arkansas football linebacker Jerry Franklin has been named to the 26th annual Butkus Award watch list, it was announced Tuesday by The Butkus Foundation. The award, instituted in 1985, is given annually to the nation’s best college linebacker.

Franklin, a junior, has been the Razorbacks’ leading tackler his first two seasons with the squad, totaling 171 tackles. Last season, Franklin brought in 94 total tackles, with five going for a loss. He played in all 13 games, starting 12, where he added three interceptions, 1.5 sacks, three pass break-ups and two fumble recoveries.

The Butkus Award semifinalists will be named Oct. 21, at a Butkus Charity Fight Night at Soldier Field in Chicago. Finalists will be named Nov. 23, and winners will be notified on or before Dec. 8.

Butkus Award selection is handled by a 51-person panel. The group includes many of the nation’s most-respected coaches, general managers, talent evaluators, scouts and media.

Butkus Award Watch ListAkeem Ayers, UCLANick Bellore, Central MichiganChris Borland, WisconsinVontaze Burfict, Arizona StateJosh Bynes, AuburnTank Carder, TCUBruce Carter, North CarolinaJonathan Cornell, MississippiQuentin Davie, NorthwesternBrian Duncan, Texas TechMason Foster, WashingtonJerry Franklin, ArkansasChris Galippo, USCMark Herzlich, Boston CollegeDont’a Hightower, AlabamaDoug Hogue, SyracuseRoss Homan, Ohio StateJustin Houston, GeorgiaNate Irving, North Carolina StateNico Johnson, AlabamaGreg Jones, Michigan StateElijah Joseph, TempleThomas Keiser, StanfordLuke Kuechly, Boston CollegeTravis Lewis, OklahomaGreg Lloyd, ConnecticutScott Lutrus, ConnecticutChris Marve, VanderbiltCasey Matthews, OregonColin McCarthy, Miami (Fla.)Von Miller, Texas A&MMike Mohamed, CaliforniaAdrian Moten, MarylandJonas Mouton, MichiganKevin Reddick, North CarolinaKeenan Robinson, TexasBrian Rolle, Ohio StateKelvin Sheppard, LSUBrian Smith, Notre DameDerrell Smith, SyracuseD.J. Smith, Appalachian StateSean Spence, Miami (Fla.)Craig Stevens, AuburnQuan Sturdivant, North CarolinaManti Te’o, Notre DameChris White, Mississippi StateKorey Williams, Southern MississippiMartez Wilson, IllinoisLawrence Wilson, ConnecticutK.J. Wright, Mississippi StateAlex Wujciak, Maryland

Sports Category : Football