comscore script

Fred Talley Named to Doak Walker Award Watch L

Fred Talley Named to Doak Walker Award Watch L
FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – Arkansas senior tailback Fred Talley has been named to the Doak Walker Award watch list, announced Tuesday by the SMU Athletic Forum Board of Directors.

The Doak Walker Award is annually awarded to the nation’s top collegiate running back.

Talley, from Longview, Texas, led the team with 774 yards on 164 carries last season and scored four touchdowns. A second-team All-Southeastern Conference selection, he had four 100-yard games and has seven for his career.

In 2000, he led the team with 768 yards on 137 carries and scored five times. His three 100-yard games came in consecutive contests against Auburn (161), Ole Miss (214) and Tennessee (142). His 517 yards over that stretch are the most in a three-game stretch in school history.

For his career, the preseason honorable mention All-America selection by Street & Smith’s has gained1,542 yards on 301 carries and scored nine touchdowns.

Talley has also been named to the Football Writers Association of America preseason All-America watch list, along with offensive tackle Shawn Andrews, free safety Ken Hamlin, and cornerback and kick returner Lawrence Richardson. Andrews is on the Lombardi Award and Outland Trophy watch lists, and Hamlin is on the Bronko Nagurski National Defensive Player of the Year award watch list.

The SMU Athletic Forum Board of Directors will select eight semifinalists on Nov. 19 and the Doak Walker Award National Selection Committee will choose the winner in late November. The winner will be announced live on ESPN’s Home Depot College Football Awards Show on Dec. 12. The presentation banquet is Jan. 28 at the Fairmont Hotel in Dallas.

The other 41 players on the watch list are Minnesota’s Marion Barber III, Texas’ Cedric Benson, Colorado’s Chris Brown, Memphis’ Dante Brown, Stanford’s Kerry Carter, SMU’s ShanDerrick Charles, West Virginia’s Avon Cobourne, Wisconsin’s Anthony Davis, Nebraska’s Dahrran Diedrick, Arizona’s Clarence Farmer, Boise State’s Brock Forsey, Alabama’s Ahmaad Galloway, Florida’s Earnest Graham, Iowa’s Aaron Greving, Oklahoma’s Quentin Griffin, Northern Illinois’ Thomas Hammock, UNLV’s Joe Haro, Illinois’ Antoineo Harris, Middle Tennessee State’s Dwone Hicks, California’s Joe Igber, Oregon State’s Steven Jackson, Central Michigan’s Terrence Jackson, Penn State’s Larry Johnson, Florida State’s Greg Jones, Nevada’s Chance Kretschmer, Purdue’s Montrell Lowe, Ball State’s Marcus Merriweather, Tulane’s Mewelde Moore, Miami’s (Ohio) Cal Murray, Southern Miss’ Derrick Nix, Akron’s Brandon Payne, Maryland’s Bruce Perry, Kentucky’s Artose Pinner, South Carolina’s Andrew Pinnock, Colorado State’s Cecil Sapp, Temple’s Tanardo Sharps, Georgia’s Musa Smith, LSU’s LaBrandon Toefield, Marshall’s Franklin Wallace, Auburn’s Carnell Williams and Wake Forest’s Tarence Williams.

Sports Category :