comscore script

Herring Named as Broyles Award Finalist

Herring Named as Broyles Award Finalist

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. – Arkansas defensive coordinator and linebackers coach Reggie Herring has been named one of five finalists for the Broyles Award, presented annually to the top assistant coach in the nation.

Herring is in contention for the award bearing the name of former Arkansas head coach and current UA athletic director Frank Broyles. Joining Herring as 2006 finalists include Ohio State passing game coordinator and quarterbacks coach Joe Daniels, Virginia Tech defensive coordinator and inside linebackers coach Bud Foster, Louisville offensive coordinator Paul Petrino and Oklahoma associate head coach, defensive coordinator and linebackers coach Brent Venables. The standout coaches were all named finalists on Wednesday for the prestigious award given to the nation’s top assistant football coach.

“Reggie and his defensive staff have done a tremendous job leading our defense this season,” Arkansas head coach Houston Nutt said. “We have had so many injuries to key players on defense, but guys continue to step up to fill the void. That is a credit to his leadership and coaching ability. We are all proud that Reggie has been recognized for his outstanding efforts.”

Herring has spearheaded a defense that has overcome adversity and nearly every turn this season. Arkansas has lost five defensive starters to injury and employed seven different defensive lineups in 2006. The play of the Razorback defense was instrumental in Arkansas’ 10-consecutive wins and outright Southeastern Conference Western Division championship. Following a season-opening loss to Southern California, Arkansas has allowed an average of 13.7 points per game in the remaining 11 games.

The winner of the 2006 Broyles Award will be announced Tuesday, Jan. 16, in Little Rock at a banquet presented by The Rotary Club of Little Rock.

Herring is the second Razorback assistant coach to be named a finalist since the Broyles Award was established in 1997. Former Arkansas defensive coordinator Keith Burns was finalist for the award in 1998.

Sports Category : Football