comscore script

Hogs Look for 29th South Central Cross Country Title

Hogs Look for 29th South Central Cross Country Title

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. The No. 7 Razorbacks will host the 2007 NCAA South Central Regional Championships, Sat., Nov. 10. The men’s race is set to go off at 10 a.m. at Agri Park in Fayetteville.

Each school is allowed to declare 10 athletes for the event. Chris Barnicle, Lane Boyer, Michael Chinchar, Shawn Forrest, Tyler Hill, Daniel LaCava, Scott MacPherson, Matt Munoz, Duncan Phillips and Rio Reina are entered to compete for the Hogs but only seven will be sent to the start line.

The top two teams and four individuals from each of the nine regional championships automatically qualify for the NCAA Championships. On Sunday, 13 at-large teams will be added to the national championship field by the NCAA Division I Track and Field Committee. Two additional at-large individuals will round out the field of 255.

The Razorbacks have won 17-consecutive NCAA South Central titles since 1990 and 28 of 29 South Central Championships awarded since 1978 (The loss came in 1989). Arkansas has won 18 individual NCAA South Central Regional titles. The last came in 2004 from Josphat Boit who clocked a time of 29:43 to win the event.

In 2006, Arkansas finished five of its runners in the top 10 and seven in the top 20. Shawn Forrest is the Razorbacks’ top returner from the 2006 NCAA South Central Regional Championships. Forrest earned a bronze finish in 2006 with a time of 29:43.1.

The Razorbacks sit at No. 7 on the USTFCCCA National poll and No. 1 on the South Central Regional poll. They are the top-ranked SEC team in the nation and sit at No. 1 among schools in the South Central Region.

Arkansas finished in a tie for fifth at last year’s NCAA Championships and won its 17th-straight South Central Regional title in 2006.

For complete details of the 2007 NCAA South Central Regional Championships, visit

Download: 11.10.07 NCAA SC Chmps.pdf

Sports Category : Cross Country (M)